Stuffed Pumpkin French Toast

11 03 2009

I was totally in the mood for some of my Pumpkin French Toast! You can check out my  pumpkin french toast here or visit the Recipe Page for all the different recipes I have done, some are less descriptive than others but you get the idea of what I did.
1 BLOG 002
Recipe:

Batter for 2 slices:
1/3 cup egg whites
1/4 cup pumpkin
Splash of Milk
Cinnamon
*sweetener if you prefer* I never do because I typically use unsweetened frozen fruit that creates a syrup after heating or I use a filling etc. Ideas if you want sweeter french toast: 1 tsp of brown sugar, splenda, stevia, agave syrup, maple syrup… 

Heat up skillet or pan to medium, I don’t use nonstick spray but you could. Whisk together the batter. Dip bread into the batter and place into heated pan. Flip after about 2 minutes+ on each side.

I filled mine with 2 tablespoons of fat free ricotta cheese I had mixed with 1 tablespoon of low sugar grape jelly. I also sprinkled Wheat Germ on top for some lovely Vitamin E.

As I said above, I heated up unsweetened frozen fruit in the microwave ( some mango, pineapple, and wild organic blueberries) on the side.

The plan for today…

Body:  

I woke up and did Jillian’s 30 Day Shred LEVEL 2 before breakfast! I can never exercise on a full stomach, but I also cannot exercise on a completely empty stomach. I can’t go that long after waking up, but since Jillian’s Shred is only 20 minutes I can do here at home vs. 1.5 hr trip to the gym- I was pumped up!

I can’t believe how much easier level 2 felt than level 1 for me. It was an even better workout- more difficult moves in general and more of a sweat – however it was way easier on my knee joints than all the jumping jacks etc. in level 1.

Any of you shredders out there that find jumping jacks not your thing, try out level 2 ( the only time you do JJ is in the warm up)- I would think it would be easier for you but still give you a challenge.

Another tip ( in general for other exercisers too): many people seem to struggle with is correct squat positions- in the correct squat position, your weight should be centered in your HEELS- you should literally be able to do the squat AND lift up your toes. If you can lift up your toes, it is nearly impossible for your knee joint to go over your toe. You might not get down as far but that will get better as you develop those muscles in the correct position.

* Updated: Walk/Jog with Jeff after class before dark!

Mind:
Article due today, I have to write out my synopsis for our group. I also have a list of random “to do’s” since my mom is arriving tomorrow night, I need to get the guest room ready etc.!

The article I found studied the effects of supplementing B vitamins in children with Autism. In their small study, they found that supplementing did in fact restore their samples abnormally low levels of B vitamins. The reason why this is important is because for proper antioxidant regeneration, we require Folate and Vitamin B 12 to help remove homocysteine ( a marker for heart disease). We also regenerate antioxidants through this process so essentially if these kiddos are deficient in B-vitamins, they may have increased oxidative stress or damage to their brain cells which could excacerbate/cause/develop “Autism”.  I tend to think of this effect of Vitamin B deficiency occuring in utero, meaning it affects their brain development from the get go. The effects only start to show up two-three years after being born because the lack of antioxidants weren’t crucial to “living”, however, this doesn’t provide a treatment mechanism because those connections have already been misconstrued during development.

Soul:

I think the walk with Jeff was just as good as yoga, nice and refreshing. We have a busy few days ahead of us, my mom is coming and I have the honors society initiation ceremony, State basketball plays in the playoffs, and we are helping my brother move over the weekend!

HAPPY HUMP DAY!





Ready to Relax

11 03 2009

Hey everyone! I am back home and ready to relax!

Dinner:
1 BLOG 010
Jeff grilled me a big ol fillet of salmon using some lite soy sauce and black pepper and olive oil ( NOO)
1 BLOG 009
I sectioned it into 4 portions and he also grilled asparagus spears on the grill with some salt, pepper and the same olive oil…  1 BLOG 016

This was my first time using the NOO olive oil (it came in my package this past friday!).

1 BLOG 023

It was fantastic, it really helped seal in the juice of the salmon and the chicken we also grilled. The asparagus was WONDERFUL! It is for sure my favorite vegetable.

It was so nice outside and perfect grilling weather!

I made some whole grain rice and added some garlic powder, oregano, thyme and salt and pepper.
1 BLOG 015
Here is the plate again…

1 BLOG 010

Between Class Snack: 1 BLOG 008
Two ginger creme cookies from NOO.

Here is the info:
Sizes: 16-ounce package

Ginger O’s:
Organic Unbleached Flour, Powdered Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Molasses, Organic Sugar, Sodium Bicarbonate (leavening), Ground Ginger, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Salt, Monocalcium Phosphate (leavening), Nutmeg. 

Ginger-O’s: Serving 2 cookies:
Calories 120 (calories from fat 40), Total Fat 4.5g (Saturated Fat 2g), Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 160mg, Total Carbohydrates 19g, (dietary fiber 0g, sugar 10g), Protein 1g 

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect because I normally am not a huge fan of ginger. I totally enjoyed these cookies though! They taste very much like two ginger snaps but more mellow in the spice department. The creme in the middle clearly reminds me of an oreo, so these were delicious! I shared the entire package with my Metabolism Class. Hi Everyone!! I hope you stop by and comment away and glad that you enjoyed the cookies!

I think the general consensus was they were delicious if you like the ginger flavor and a few have had them before and really enjoy Newman’s Own Products. Our professor met Nel Newman at a conference before and he likes the brand because they contribute their profits to charity. Thanks again Sally! 

Lunch Leftovers from last night, we almost always cook 4 servings of most things and use the other two for lunches the next day or so. I definitely never waste leftovers!
1 BLOG 006
Two halves of local sweet potatoes, one purple one orange.. I know, it looks so weird! It tastes exactly like a sweet potato but the texture is just slightly more firm so I bet they would make excellent fries.  Also in there was some Kashi Curry Pilaf and chicken cooked with hot sauce.

I had some Champs Elysse ( from Trader Joes) mix on the side.
1 BLOG 007

Breakfast:

Chocolate & Cherry Oats
1 BLOG 002
Breakfast was old fashioned oats made with water and half a scoop of chocolate protein powder in the microwave. I added wheat germ, peanut butter, and frozen cherries to it after it was finished, which defrosted the cherries super fast. It was almost like chocolate covered cherries, but it smelled like it more than anything!

*I also had an unpictured coffee at Starbucks this morning while studying for my exam*

How was everyone’s Tuesday? What is your favorite thing to do when the weather gets nicer and you have more light in the day?