Ready to Relax

11 03 2009

Hey everyone! I am back home and ready to relax!

Dinner:
1 BLOG 010
Jeff grilled me a big ol fillet of salmon using some lite soy sauce and black pepper and olive oil ( NOO)
1 BLOG 009
I sectioned it into 4 portions and he also grilled asparagus spears on the grill with some salt, pepper and the same olive oil…  1 BLOG 016

This was my first time using the NOO olive oil (it came in my package this past friday!).

1 BLOG 023

It was fantastic, it really helped seal in the juice of the salmon and the chicken we also grilled. The asparagus was WONDERFUL! It is for sure my favorite vegetable.

It was so nice outside and perfect grilling weather!

I made some whole grain rice and added some garlic powder, oregano, thyme and salt and pepper.
1 BLOG 015
Here is the plate again…

1 BLOG 010

Between Class Snack: 1 BLOG 008
Two ginger creme cookies from NOO.

Here is the info:
Sizes: 16-ounce package

Ginger O’s:
Organic Unbleached Flour, Powdered Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Molasses, Organic Sugar, Sodium Bicarbonate (leavening), Ground Ginger, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Salt, Monocalcium Phosphate (leavening), Nutmeg. 

Ginger-O’s: Serving 2 cookies:
Calories 120 (calories from fat 40), Total Fat 4.5g (Saturated Fat 2g), Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 160mg, Total Carbohydrates 19g, (dietary fiber 0g, sugar 10g), Protein 1g 

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect because I normally am not a huge fan of ginger. I totally enjoyed these cookies though! They taste very much like two ginger snaps but more mellow in the spice department. The creme in the middle clearly reminds me of an oreo, so these were delicious! I shared the entire package with my Metabolism Class. Hi Everyone!! I hope you stop by and comment away and glad that you enjoyed the cookies!

I think the general consensus was they were delicious if you like the ginger flavor and a few have had them before and really enjoy Newman’s Own Products. Our professor met Nel Newman at a conference before and he likes the brand because they contribute their profits to charity. Thanks again Sally! 

Lunch Leftovers from last night, we almost always cook 4 servings of most things and use the other two for lunches the next day or so. I definitely never waste leftovers!
1 BLOG 006
Two halves of local sweet potatoes, one purple one orange.. I know, it looks so weird! It tastes exactly like a sweet potato but the texture is just slightly more firm so I bet they would make excellent fries.  Also in there was some Kashi Curry Pilaf and chicken cooked with hot sauce.

I had some Champs Elysse ( from Trader Joes) mix on the side.
1 BLOG 007

Breakfast:

Chocolate & Cherry Oats
1 BLOG 002
Breakfast was old fashioned oats made with water and half a scoop of chocolate protein powder in the microwave. I added wheat germ, peanut butter, and frozen cherries to it after it was finished, which defrosted the cherries super fast. It was almost like chocolate covered cherries, but it smelled like it more than anything!

*I also had an unpictured coffee at Starbucks this morning while studying for my exam*

How was everyone’s Tuesday? What is your favorite thing to do when the weather gets nicer and you have more light in the day?

Actions

Information

11 responses

11 03 2009
VeggieGirl

SWEET POTATO!!!!!!!

11 03 2009
erin

hellllo prettty lady.

i LOVE salmon.
i could eat it all day. every meal if you let me.

is it really bad for you if you eat it 4 times a week?
because i so do..
maybe more…..
oops.

annnnnnyway.

gingersnap oreos?!
i don’t hateeee it.

i have a question how many snacks do you usually eat per day?
is there a certain number?
or do you just eat intuitively??

as for this lovely weather, i try to get to hilton head 😉

hehe but when i cant, i like to study outside in the sun!
use the natural light God gave us!

<33

11 03 2009
caitlin

hey! shoot me an email and i’ll send you the widget. 🙂 seebriderun@gmail.com

11 03 2009
Sharon

Wow, everything looks amazing!!!

11 03 2009
AnAppleADay

i LOVE purple swt potatoes!!!
I still gotta try my NOO olive oil~ thanks for the review!

11 03 2009
Marians eats. The italian way

All your food truly looks wonderful!!!!

11 03 2009
lauren

hi hun
great eats 🙂 those ginger cookies sound really nice!
hope you have a nice day,
xxx

11 03 2009
BB

LOVE the purple tater…and I love the longer days! More time to stay outside!

11 03 2009
Anna

That sweet potato looks so strange. I believe you when you say it tastes the same!

I am loving the longer days. I just feel like I can be productive for so much longer and can be active outdoors in the early evening. I love running once it’s cooled off a little bit and the sun starts to set.

11 03 2009
bHealthier

Me too Anna!! I love that!

BB : It does look SO STRANGE! But it really does just taste the same way, how funny! I bet kids would like it

Lauren and Marian: Thank you! Hope you had a lovely day as well!

Apple: Yes, it was great! Glad you got the same package!

Veggie, Sharon and Caitlin: Thanks!

Erin: I already commented back to you so 😛

11 03 2009
dailygoods

woah purple sweet potato! that thing is BRIGHT! where do you find them? i’ve never seen them at the grovery store before, but they look sooo fun!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

