Chicken Polenta Casserole

28 04 2009

So I made chicken polenta casserole on thursday for dinner this weekend at the beach. I took the casseroles down in an insulated bag that we had filled with ice so it was still icy cold when we arrived at the beach! Here is how I did it..

1 BLOG 017 1 BLOG 016

1 BLOG 010 

Base Layer: Polenta1 BLOG 011

Here is my recipe ( above shows a triple batch):
1 cup cornmeal
3 cups water
1 tsp salt
1 tsp steak seasoning
1/4 cup cheese

Directions:
Heat water and salt to boiling,drop heat to low and whisk in cornmeal. Whisk approx. 3 minutes or until thick and smooth. Add in steak seasoning and cheese, mix well.  Pour and spread this into a 9 x 13 casserole dish.
1 BLOG 015
Casserole Filling:
1 zuchinni
1 onion
1 tsp olive oil

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
1 can black beans
1/2 cup shredded cheese of choice

Directions:
I diced the onion and zuchinni and threw them into a medium-heat skillet with the oil. I sauteed them until fragrant and the onions were translucent/slightly brown. While this mixture was cooking, I pounded out chicken breasts and sliced into pieces. I took out the zuchinni/onion mixture 1 BLOG 013

and added my chicken to the hot, seasoned skillet.
1 BLOG 012
I cooked the chicken breasts until no longer pink inside, added back the zuchinni & onion, added the tomatoes 1 BLOG 014

and let it simmer  ( I like to say simmmmmmaaaahhh when I do this) until it gets as thick as I like.

Add this simmered mix on top of the polenta, add black beans on top, sprinkle cheese on top.
Bake at 350 until cheese is brown ( approx. 30 minutes).

I had tripled this recipe for 9 adults but we had about 1/2 of 1 of the casseroles left over. Everyone said they really enjoyed it (I had sent them a link to the first time I made it in advance to make sure they would know what was for dinner!)

 1 BLOG 017

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 04 2009
Sharon

That’s it, I’m coming over! =D

28 04 2009
broccolihut

I am on a total grits/polenta kick lately, so that casserole gets my creative juices flowin’…

28 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

This seems like a good recipe to keep around! Travels well and feeds a crowd. Two good qualities! Plus it’s healthy! Thank you for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

