Bridal Magazines, Tofu, Cuban "Paninis"

23 04 2009

Body:
okay, so I intended to run today however, I cleaned all morning and because of that- I had a minor asthma “attack” ( I am allergic to dogs, dust, cats, anything with fur pretty much and I have had asthma since I was about 2 ,and it was my own fault of not taking my allergy meds. prior to cleaning. I’m fine now fyi). I still went to the gym though but I know my lungs couldn’t handle a big run- I did 2.2 miles on the treadmill and 20 minutes ellipticizing.

Mind:
Check out my post on Iron from this morning!

Soul and Breakfast:
1 BLOG 008 

Read wedding magazines with tons of fruit! I had half of a grapefruit, the last of the fresh pineapple, half a banana, some mango, cherries, and papaya. I had an egg white sandwich with 3 egg whites ( microwaved), black bean and corn salsa, and hot sauce ( and whole grain bread).

Provides:
3 servings of fruit, 2 servings whole grains
380 kcal
21 g protein

Wedding Magazines:
provides:
entertainment!!! The good
1 BLOG 001
Isn’t that cute?! I love all the ideas I get from photos of other people.

The Bad:
1 BLOG 002

The Ugly:

1 BLOG 003

Seriously? The worst part is that unless you have read several of these latest magazines as I have recently, she is in SO MANY of them? What bugs me the most, none of these people smile at all !?! I guess the photographers don’t care because you have to cover up their faces anyway to imagine yourself. 
 
Hmm..Even when I did cover her face, you can still see her gray furry mohawk.

( Notice my pineapple-battle scar ? it hurts like crazy! again my fault for not utilizing proper knife skills. lesson learned. )

Onto the good things..
 1 BLOG 004
My ring looks so big on there. NO apologies to those that are sick of seeing photos of my ring, I LOVE IT! And, I love that cake! I think its gorgeous … as are..
1 BLOG 005
Stargazer Lillies.
 
Alright, now all you bridal magazine photographers… I know there are tricks to making your body “look” skinny, however unrealistic and stupid I think that is….

What is with the ” My boobs don’t fit in this and I think I am going to hurl or pass out and faint in my wedding dress”  pose… ?

 1 BLOG 007
1 BLOG 025
See ?  you could just imagine hearing them grunt “ahh, urggh, pheeeww, rrr” or look up at the sky and think “hmmm”. That does not make me want to fit into those dresses- it looks like she is in pain and wants to rip it off?  I thought the idea is that you will imagine yourself in those dresses and want to buy them.

And she just looks she doesn’t even want to get married at all.
“Contemplation” ….
1 BLOG 026
The groom should run in the other direction if you look this indecisive on your wedding day.

Alright, enough silliness.
Lunch:
Ranch Tofu , Chobani Puffins, Banana, Veggies

1 BLOG 010
I am telling you, a Hidden Valley Seasoning Packet on top of squeezed, extra firm tofu is SO delicious! It is the only way I like tofu now.

Provides:
.5 fruit servings, 2 servings veggies
425 kcal
32 g protein
 
Class:
1 BLOG 012 1 BLOG 014 1 BLOG 013

This was from a group that analyzed it as a functional food for calcium and it gives Whey Protein an AWFUL misrepresentation! This stuff was ICKY! It only offers 20% of DV of calcium, 200 kcal and 15 g protein. I only had the tiniest pour and couldn’t even finish that. Jay Robb and other whey proteins taste WAY better! ick.

Dinner:
Cuban Sammies
1 BLOG 017
We had made pork a few days ago so I sliced up the one that was leftover, layered it with a slice of salami, half slice of cheddar, pickles, and mustard in a whitewheat bun. I put a little smart balance on the outsides of the buns and heated them up like this:
1 BLOG 018 
We don’t have a panini maker. hmm… these were AWESOME so maybe we can register for a sammy maker.
1 BLOG 022
I had one and on the side I heated up frozen veggies from this guy:
1 BLOG 020
It was huge! It offered 17 servings of veggies for less than $8 I believe.
1 BLOG 023
Delicious!
Each sandwich was approx. 220 kcal ( 1 slice salami, 1/3 of a 4oz pork chop, 1/2 slice of cheese, bun)

( I also had a banana and some almonds as a late morning snack today- no photos and I am also going to eat something else too but I don’t know what yet.)

Actions

Information

18 responses

23 04 2009
VeggieGirl

Eeek, hang in there with the asthma attacks!!

PB PUFFINS!!

23 04 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, everything looks so good!!!

23 04 2009
amandoo

you’re so cute, i love your comments about the squeeze-into-the-dress and uncertain brides. it’s so true- what on earth are some of those pictures getting at?!?! magazines. hard to find quality ones!
i bet you will use wedding registry-ing to your healthy advantage!

πŸ™‚ keep up the inspirational awesomeness!

23 04 2009
broccolihut

How do you make ranch tofu?

23 04 2009
Erica

Great job on the fruits and veggies today! I think my day is like 75% fruits and veggies right now hahaha. Ah wedding magazines. I had like a million. Enjoy your planning πŸ˜‰

23 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

You have me cracking up over here with your wedding magazine analysis. I’m glad you’re enjoying the engagement glow πŸ™‚

23 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

P.S. I am TOTALLY trying the Hidden Valley tofu!!

23 04 2009
BB

The “ugly” dress was my wedding dress, actually.

Kidding. But I did have the gray furry mohawk. Don’t hate!

23 04 2009
Danielle

Oooh wedding magazines. I might intern at one this summer πŸ™‚ fingers crossed!

23 04 2009
eatlivelovedream

Love your panini maker (wink, wink). Your cut looks ouchy! I can’t stand when I cut myself! It seems like hands always bleed a lot too. You don’t wanna be serving up blood with your food. hah!

23 04 2009
Melissa

mmmmm ranch tofu – I must try that!

23 04 2009
burpexcuzme

lol! your commentary on those magazine made me LOL! I agree….I think the bridal models at least should crack a tiny smile? not look like they’re visiting the dying in the hospital or something. isn’t weddings supposed to be JOYFUL?

23 04 2009
lauren

hi hun
sorry to hear about the asthma atack, hope your ok now! it still sounds like you had a good workout for me!!
great eats!
ooo some of the dresses are so pretty πŸ™‚
have a great thursday!
much love
xxxx

23 04 2009
Sara

I loved the excitement of looking up wedding stuff when I was engaged πŸ™‚ I’m so excited for you!! And I totally agree with all the wedding model comments πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see what you will pick out for your wedding!

24 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

i love bridal magazines! that cake is so cute! feel free to ask me for advice on wedding cakes =)

24 04 2009
Sagan

‘What is with the ” My boobs don’t fit in this and I think I am going to hurl or pass out and faint in my wedding dress” pose… ?’

AHAHAHA still laughing over this. I’ve always wondered the same.

Wedding magazines look like lots of fun! And your ring is gorgeous; we don’t mind if it sneaks into more photos πŸ˜‰

24 04 2009
Hangry Pants

I really enjoyed your commentary on the bridal mags.

5 05 2009
MammaTed

You are tooo healthy, energetic and busy for any one person!!! You are like Jane Fonda on crack…You already looked beautiful and in perfect shape, take some time for yourself and to enjoy being engaged!!!!!

Leave a Reply

