The Proposal

15 04 2009

Jeff and I met 3 years ago. He asked me to go to a “pig pickin” and being a yankee from Pittsburgh, I had no clue what a pig pickin was. I also had no idea that I would be meeting his sisters,  neice and nephew, brothers, mom and stepdad, aunt and his uncle that day! It was so much fun! That may seem backwards, to meet the entire family first but it doesn’t to me now. We’ve spent countless dinners there in the past 3 years! I quickly realized how much family means to Jeff and its one of the reasons why I love him so much.
DSCN0058
So that is how it began ( the short version). (That is at Mom and Prestons’)

About 2 months ago, Jeff sent me with his sisters to find out what my ring size was and what kinds of diamonds and settings I liked. I picked out two completely different styles with each of his sisters on separate trips! I had no idea but Jeff secretly went out a few days later with these 2 sisters and bought my ring! I was calling him that day to celebrate our friends’ birthday and he wouldn’t answer. I figured he was in a meeting, not in the jewlery store picking out a diamond! He bought it 2-13-09 but it had to be specially made to fit my finger so it took 8 weeks to arrive!  He picked it up this friday and told his sister he was going to put it in a safety deposit box.

Friday, we went over to his parents’ for dinner to meet his little brother’s new girlfriend. He snapped this shot of me saying I never had any photos of me up here.
1 BLOG 018 

So we left for the lake the next morning and he took the ring up there with us. He was trying to figure out a way to ask me while we were out on the boat!

Saturday was rainy and cold so we didn’t end up going out for long, came back in and went to bed early. After an early breakfast, we headed out on the lake hopeful and cold!
1 BLOG 008

It was so cold that I had to keep taking breaks to warm my hands up! As we headed in freezing, Jeff caught a pike!
We came inside, had lunch…
1 BLOG 015
and headed home.

His parents were having Easter Dinner and his brother was still in town (we met his new girlfriend Chanda on friday), his sister came back to town early with his neice and nephew, and his grandma came over too! We were watching the Masters’ golf- tournament before dinner and everyone kept saying how gorgeous the Augusta course is! I kept thinking how amazing the azaleas are there! I said to Jeff it would be a great place for a wedding- having NO CLUE that he was about to propose!  He jokingly said back ” Who said I wanted to marry you!?”  Little did I know, about 5 minutes later we sat down to dinner.

I took out the camera and snapped this shot of the table:
1 BLOG 018
and I thought how much asparagus is my favorite veggie, then waited patiently as everything got passed around. I filled up my plate.
1 BLOG 019
His sister asked “Did you get a good picture of that?” I said “Yep!”
Jeff says ” I have something else you might want to take a picture of…(pulls out ring, hands shaking) Will you marry me?”

My heart dropped and I cried and said a tearful “of course” to him. I thought I would never stop crying. His whole family said “Did she even say Yes!?” I said “yes yes yes!” and then everyone was hugging and asked to see the ring and I hadn’t even put it on yet!

It fits!

1 BLOG 020 
1 BLOG 021
I love the peek-a-boo diamonds it has in the shape of a tulip…

And I love how much it sparkles..

And I love Jeff! We are very happy and We’re Getting Married!!!!!

Actions

Information

26 responses

15 04 2009
VeggieGirl

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!!

15 04 2009
lesley

Awww … how sweet and awesome and fun, etc etc!!!! : )

CONGRATS again!!!!!

15 04 2009
theskinnyplate

Congratulations!!! Beautiful ring!!

15 04 2009
Sharon

OOOHH MMMYYY GOSHH! So sweet!!!! congratulations!!

15 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

aww! i love how you got to suggest a couple ring styles to him that you liked! and wow! your ring is beautiful!

CONGRATS!

15 04 2009
broccolihut

What a great story! Thanks for sharing it with us.

15 04 2009
Moran

I LOVE IT! And AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

15 04 2009
caitlin

yayyy congrats! the next step is — figure out how much money you can spend and decided on a general date. theknot.com has great checklists to help you get started. but for now… just enjoy being engaged!!!

15 04 2009
Erica

SO cute! Aren’t you glad you’re a food blogger now! You have pictures of your special day! so sweet

15 04 2009
BB

YAAAAAY!!! Soak it all in– this is such an exciting time! Congratulations to you and Jeff!

15 04 2009
Sarah W.

cute story, love the ring – CONGRATS!!!!!!!!! SO EXCITING!!!!

15 04 2009
Kevin Mehm

Hey:
Jeff told me about the engagement last night. Figured this would be a good reason to finally get on your blog to say Congratulations! I’m very happy and excited for both of you. Hope to see you at the rink (or for early morning training sessions) sometime soon.
-Kevin

15 04 2009
Sagan

Aww that’s so incredibly sweet!! Thanks for sharing the story with us šŸ™‚ It’s a beautiful ring, too.

16 04 2009
EatingRD

What a great engagement story!! And that ring setting is absolutely beautiful, how unique šŸ™‚

16 04 2009
Julz

OMG congratulations angel girl! and my goodness that ring is SPECTACULAR!!! I am so happy for youuuu. love you! <33333

16 04 2009
Sara

Oh WOW!! Congrats girl!!! What a beautiful ring. I am so happy for you!!

Being married is amazing šŸ™‚ I wish the two of you all the happiness in the world šŸ™‚

16 04 2009
Hangry Pants

Thank you for all the details! I love the whole story. I love when the families are involved in the picking out of the ring and the secret plans!

16 04 2009
Hangry Pants

P.S. I really feel like my friend is engaged right now. šŸ˜€

16 04 2009
The Ted

Congrats Laurelicious!
Love you guys!

Ted & K-Tastic

16 04 2009
2 DAYS LEFT FOR MY GIVEAWAY! THANK YOU!!! « Sweet and Fit

[…] amazing things have been going on in the blogosphere!… CONGRATULATIONS LAURAL! I am SOOO HAPPY FOR […]

16 04 2009
amandoo

congrats again laural! you’re basically my first allegheny friend to get married, which you should be proud of. you look so cute together, your story(stories) paint a great picture of Jeff, and I know you’re living a healthy life. So YAY! celebrate, and enjoy it lots!!!

16 04 2009
Melissa

How sweet – thank you for sharing.

17 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

I love the whole play-by-play and read it ALL! How wonderful! The ring is just absolutely gorgeous!
About what to do next…
Well, I don’t know all the proper “etiquette,” I just know what we did! We didn’t send out an engagement announcement. I think that if you ARE going to have an engagement party (your choice, we didn’t have one), you could send out invitations to that and have that be your announcement too. Something like, “We’re engaged! Please come to our party…” Not those words but you get what I mean.
We didn’t register until we started planning the wedding, but I have no idea if that is right according to what you are “supposed” to do. One thing, PLEASE do not include anything about where you are registered in your wedding invitations! I just think it is so tacky. It’s supposed to be spread by word of mouth. People WILL ask you (and your parents, and your friends) where you are registered, so there isn’t really a need to include it in the invitation.
I would recommend going to theknot.com and starting there. You can input your wedding date and get a whole timeline of tasks, etc. You can also start building your wedding website! That part is fun.
Please let me know if I can help you at all! I didn’t have a huge wedding but I know how emotional and exciting it can be so shoot me an email if you ever want to talk šŸ™‚ And, again, CONGRATULATIONS!!

17 04 2009
Erin

OMG, I just found your blog and a hundred million congrats!!!

How exciting for you and your FIANCE!!
šŸ™‚

26 04 2009
MammaTed

It’s about time…I’m sooo happy for both of you,the ring is beautiful! You are perfect together, I’ll let you know when we get the date set for Todd and Kate’s shower and we’ll see you there.Congrats and say Hi to your Mom Jeff.

3 06 2009
Hello world! « Be Healthy Bridal

[…] that I am engaged, check out the proposal HERE,Ā  I wanted to start a new site that is more about how to stay healthy as a bride to be! I have […]

Leave a Reply

