Saturday: Lake Time with Nana!

13 04 2009

 

Body

Shred, Level 3
Yoga, on my own 30 minutes. I loved doing a yoga session on my own because I could really flow, follow my own breath with my movements at a pace that feels comfortable. I love the downloads but sometimes I don’t breathe correctly because I focus on what the download is telling me to do.

Mind

Endurance Project
Travelled to Nana’s

Soul

Fishing at the Lake …my new fishing lures to go with my new tackle box…
1 BLOG 006
No catches, very cold, but fun!

Breakfast:
Yogurt with Oatmeal Squares cereal 
1 BLOG 024
and then I added fruit!1 BLOG 025
Provides:
265 kcal
26 g protein
2 servings of fruit, 1 whole grain

Lunch:
Nana’s Homemade Oxtail Soup
1 BLOG 001
Her homemade Tomato Bacon Quiche
1 BLOG 002
* I have never had oxtail soup but I just learned about its properties regarding collagen. I really did think it made my skin look healthy!

Provides:
really not sure here… ( the quiche slice was about 300, I am overestimating on the soup)

600 kcal
~ 13 g protein ( I assume it was about 2 eggs, a few chunks of meat in the soup.. )
 

Dinner:
Easter Ham with Pineapple, Carrots, and Sweet Potato Casserole
1 BLOG 003  

What I had from this dish was approximately 1 serving of veggies, 2 servings of meat, and 1/2 serving of fruit.
I used nutrition data to find Ham information and guess my portion of ham alone was about 180 calories, 6 g fat, 1000mg of sodium, 30 g protein.
With all the other fixings total:
530 kcal
way more sodium than usual!

Dessert:

1 BLOG 005
Carrot Spice Cake

It was actually not a huge slice, so I would guess about 320 calories and lots of fat. The healthy fat from the walnuts but the unhealthy from such delicious frosting!

  • Overall:
    1715 kcal for the day

    This is a classic example of WAY too much sodium! I am not happy for myself about that but personally, I have very low blood pressure and typically do not consume much salt or sodium rich dishes. 

    Be-Healthier Today :

    The average American consumes 3500mg of sodium each day! Only 1/4 of the sodium we consume comes in our foods naturally, that means 3/4 is from the salt shaker and processed foods

    The AHA recommends a daily sodium limit to 2400 mg. 1 teaspoon of salt equals 2300 mg.

    Today, I showed the example of how sodium really adds up! 

    Tips:
    Try distancing your high-sodium meals from each other, i.e if you want soup for one meal, try to balance your next meals with lower sodium meals.
    If balancing is hard (which can be easy if you are not preparing your own meals), drink plenty of water to counter balance the effect of sodium, KNOW the foods high in sodium and keep your portion of it smaller.   Find out more info on deciphering high sodium foods here:
    http://www.uhs.wisc.edu/docs/uwhealth_sodium_180.pdf

    Eating less sodium will help:

  • keep your body from retaining extra water
  • help medicine work more effectively
  • control blood pressure
  • decrease bone mineral loss
  • decrease kidney stone risk
Actions

Information

4 responses

13 04 2009
VeggieGirl

Hooray for yoga, carrot spice cake, family time, and less sodium!! 😀

13 04 2009
Moran

I love how you added nutritional information! I probably consume a lot more sodium than I should – most foods here are really high in sodium! I did get my blood pressure checked last month and it was quite good, thank God!

13 04 2009
Erica

Crazy stats on sodium! I try to be VERY aware of my salt consumption. I never add salt to anything and try to buy the low sodium version of any packaged foods possible

13 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

pineapple + ham = an amazing combination!

I think its really easy to overdo it on the sodium, especially with all the processed foods and frozen entrees – thanks for the wake up call =)

Leave a Reply

