New and Improved Friday

11 04 2009

Hey everyone, I decided I needed to change things up a bit. I hope you enjoy my new format of mostly minor changes to make it more reader-friendly.

  1. I am starting “Bhealthier Today” tips. I think this will be fun for me to find facts or use subsititutions that I already make habits as part of a healthy lifestyle.
  2. I am also going to start, Gasp! Dare I say! …. Calorie Counting! I think it is a very useful tool to see just exactly how things add up. Healthy eating is important but sane eating is also just as important. We aren’t always going to make our own meals or have a scale nearby, that is not practical (sane). Knowing what a portion of chicken looks like is great, but I feel that balancing ALL of the things you need in your diet is key to keeping a healthy diet for life. Making choices for what you want is much easier when you know what you need.  Enjoy, Happy Easter!

    Body

    Goodbye Planet Fitness. I have been a member since shortly after meeting Jeff. So for three years now! I need more, I need more classes, more options, a new scene.

    Neighborhood Run with Jack, 3.5 miles. Yoga (Detox)

    Mind

    Endurance Project:
    The Shackleton Expedition
    was comprised of a group of explorers setting out for the Antartic. They started out fantastic only to shipwreck. Fortunately, almost all survived. They ran out of food after the first year and had to survive off of seaweed, seal, penguin, and their dogs. Without fruits, grains, vegetables etc., How did they not develop a disease such as Scurvy from Vitamin C deficiency ?

    Soul
    Meet Jeff’s brother’s new girlfriend this evening. Excited.
    Friday. I love fridays.
    Sunshine.

Breakfast:
1 BLOG 005

Blueberry Soy Smoothie and Oatmeal Squares Cereal
Provides:
290 kcal
27 g protein
2 servings of fruit, 1 dairy, 1 whole grain

Mini- Lunch:
1 BLOG 007

1 Banana Walnut VitaMuffin with Smart Balance Peanut Butter and Vanilla yogurt
Provides:
150 kcal
6 g protein
50% of daily Iron, Vitamin A, C, E, D, K, B
 
Post-Run Lunch:
1 BLOG 014 1 BLOG 008
Egg White Veggie Burrito, Apple ( Organic Fuji), Raw Almonds

Provides:
260 kcal
26 g protein
4 servings of veggies, 1 serving of fruit

Dinner:
Beer and Wine, 300 kcal 

1 BLOG 015 1 BLOG 019
 
Sam Adams Blackberry Witbier ( delicious!) Restless Soul Wine

Entree:
Chicken Lombardi, Chive Biscuit, Lemon Parmesean Vermicilli (whole grain and so delicious),
Succozinni ( I made that name up with Jeff- it was like a succotash with zuchinni)
1 BLOG 020
I would estimate:
480- 600 kcal +
35 g protein  
2 servings of veggies
 
Dessert:

1 BLOG 021

Oh goodness! Jeff’s mom made individual strawberry shortcakes with cream cheese frosting and fresh strawberries! Jeff and I split one..
1 BLOG 023
1/2 approx. 260 calories, about 1 serving of fruit.

Overall, approximately 1880 calories.  I’m not concerned with getting a certain number in everyday, but more so getting in a variety of all food groups. I may pay more attention to it once I start getting closer to race time.  I also think this will be a useful training tool for me as I run, it will help me gauge how I felt during a run based on my pre-run fuel ( too much too little etc.). 
Today, I think is an example of getting in your fruits and vegetables but also enjoying yourself and the social aspect of eating without going overboard!
 
Hope you guys enjoy the counts and estimations! Feel free to voice your thoughts!

Be-Healthier Today :
Starting this feature simple: Instead of using loads of butter in recipes, try substituting healthier fat sources!

I love using nonfat greek yogurt or applesauce as a subsititute for butter in baking.

Make Extra Virgin Olive Oil a habit instead of butter. Olive oil contains phytosterols and heart healthy fat which helps protect cell membranes from oxidation, meaning it has antioxidant properties.

Check out more information on Olive Oil’s antioxidant properties : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15830923

  • Virgin means the oil was produced by the use of physical means and no chemical treatment. The term virgin oil referring to production is different from Virgin Oil on a retail label (see next section).
  • Refined means that the oil has been chemically treated to neutralize strong tastes (characterized as defects) and neutralize the acid content (free fatty acids). Refined oil is commonly regarded as lower quality than virgin oil; the retail labels extra-virgin olive oil and virgin olive oil cannot contain any refined oil.
  • Pomace olive oil means oil extracted from the pomace using chemical solvents, mostly hexane, and by heat

    Butter itself on occasion is perfectly fine but healthier options can give you MORE!

  • Advertisements

    Actions

    Information

    14 responses

    11 04 2009
    rediscoveringlauren

    hey girlie
    i look forward to the new additions to your already amazing, enjoyable to read posts πŸ™‚
    have A wonderful day!
    xxxx

    11 04 2009
    rediscoveringlauren

    oh and do you see how when i comment it wont link back to my blog, do you have any idea why that is? its only happening on wordpress blogs!
    id appreciate any help πŸ™‚
    xxx

    11 04 2009
    Sharon

    Delicious, delicious. I want to try that Banana Walnut VitaMuffin!

    11 04 2009
    VeggieGirl

    Great new format, eats, and olive oil information!!

    11 04 2009
    theskinnyplate

    Mmmm…. I like the Banana Walnut VitaMuffins myself. Vitamuffins with PB is always yummy. I like your smoothie recipe. I’m starting to get into having smoothies for breakfast now too.

    11 04 2009
    Sara

    I have been finding great success with calorie counting the past few weeks, and I hope you do to! It really is important to help maintain that balance. I look forward to the new additions to the site πŸ™‚ Good luck!!

    11 04 2009
    lesley

    Loving your format changes : )

    I definitely think calorie counting can be a very helpful thing to do at times. I’ve thought about doing so recently myself for awhile just to see how it goes.

    Also, great substitutes for baking!! I use greek yogurt a lot myself as a sub and love it!

    12 04 2009
    Sagan

    Heh at first I thought that you only had beer and wine for dinner. Yummy! (Then I scrolled down. Still yummy!).

    Thanks for the clarification about different labels with olive oil.

    12 04 2009
    Sweet and Fit

    love the new format! πŸ˜‰

    I never knew what extra *virgin* olive oil meant! thanks!

    12 04 2009
    Leanne

    Thanks for letting me know about the weird post this morning… I finally got it fixed! That strawberry short cake looks to-die for by the way!

    13 04 2009
    BB

    Your tips are always golden, so I think it will make a great addition to the blog!

    And as for your endurance project– I think I would have eaten a fellow explorer before eating my dog…or my dog would have tried to eat me first. Have fun with that!

    13 04 2009
    Melissa

    I don’t understand why “calorie counting” is always such a dirty word. πŸ˜‰

    Lovely strawberry shortcakes – one of my favorites.

    15 04 2009
    The Proposal « Body Mind Soul

    […] parents were having Easter Dinner and his brother was still in town (we met his new girlfriend Chanda on friday), his sister came back to town early with his neice and nephew, and his grandma came over too! We […]

    17 04 2009
    Lara (Thinspired)

    Ok, oops, I missed this post and just answered my own question about why you are counting calories! I hope it helps you get ready for the race πŸ™‚ I have nothing against calorie counting, I agree with Melissa…why are people so against it? I don’t want to get compulsive about it, obviously, but it’s good to have a gauge!

    Leave a Reply

