Product Review: Popchips

10 04 2009

Oh my goodness!! I had no idea how much I would love these chips!
Popchips were happy to pop over a sample of their product line of awesome healthy potato chips.
1 BLOG 022 1 BLOG 023 

Jeff and I  ( Jack had a mini one and loved it too, who could resist that face?)
excitedlytried the first bag: Sea Salt and Vinegar ( probably our favorite combo in general)! Here is the nutrition info:
 1 BLOG 025

We were extremely pleased!!!
Review:
These were packed with vinegar and sea salt taste, they were crispy and crunchy but not harsh like chips can be sometimes. These were more light and airy like popcorn, thicker than a chip but MUCH less greasy! Hmm, fantastic! Just filled with flavor and crunch! They smelled just like any other sea salt and vinegar chip, and we weren’t sure whether they were popcorn or potato chips at first, so we read more about them.

All the flavor. So, Where’s the fat?

“Introducing an all-natural chip like you’ve never tasted before. We don’t fry it (unhealthy). We don’t bake it (undelicious). We take the finest ingredients, like wholesome potatoes, apply heat and pressure, and pop! It’s a chip. Then we use an artful blend of natural seasonings for a snack so tasty, crispy and dip-able, you won’t even notice it’s (we hesitate to say) healthier. ” I liked that last word (haha)

What Popchips http://popchips.com/ thinks:

We think there aren’t enough meals in the day. We think spoiling your dinner is just fine. And if there’s one thing we know as snack fanatics, if it doesn’t taste good, it’s not a snack.

But taste isn’t the only thing we care about. We’re just as concerned about putting good things into our bodies as the next snacker. Maybe even more so. And getting rid of trans fats is just a start. We also think about the other things that give snacking a bad rap — like saturated fats, calories, preservatives, artificial everything. It’s enough to make a snacker get out the chip clip and hold out for dinner.

So what were our options? Not many. In spite of snacks filling an entire grocery store aisle, we realized everything was pretty much either fried (unhealthy) or baked (undelicious). Someone needed to do something on behalf of all snackers. So we thought, who better for the job?

In our pursuit of the snackers’ holy grail, delicious and healthier, we discovered popping. We’re able to simultaneously keep all of the flavor in, while keeping half the fat of fried chips out. Since we do all the popping ourselves, we can make sure of that. Our quality control mantra? If it doesn’t taste good, it’s not a snack, of course.

That’s why we’re so excited about all-natural popchips™ brand chips. We’re not hoarding the bag. We want snackers and snack fanatics alike to share the joy!”

Salt and Vinegar were my favorite, however, I enjoyed all of these honestly. Here are the rest in order of personal taste preference…

Original Flavor

1 BLOG 011
I am holding one up so you can see what it looks like! It tasted just like a regular potato chip but with a much better texture! It also isn’t greasy so I am for sure sold as a future consumer of popchips. You will see more of these as a snack on here!

BBQ
1 BLOG 001
Jeff had these and really liked them! I tried one, but I have never liked bbq flavor. I actually liked these! I gave a bag to Jeff’s sister Melissa so I will have to see what they think!

Parmesean Garlic
1 BLOG 010

These were my least favorite flavor, only because the garlic was a little harsh afterwards on the breath! Still crunchy, crispy packed with flavor just not my fav.


Thank You to Tory at Popchips!!! These are really tasty and I am heading out to buy some big bags for our girl’s weekend trip to the beach!

Actions

Information

8 responses

10 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

Snackers Holy Grail..hehe…you are so clever. I am dying to try these babies!

10 04 2009
Sharon

Awwwhhh, i hope these are in canada!

10 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

healthy potato chips??? hello!

10 04 2009
dailygoods

ooh awesome review! i need to find these NOW! 🙂

10 04 2009
theskinnyplate

Popchips are really good. I love the BBQ flavored one the most!!

11 04 2009
Caroline

Ooh! I have been on a chip kick lately, and I really want to try these now. Thanks for the review!

20 06 2009
Weekly Recap: Wine, Caprese Salad, Pizza… « Body Mind Soul

[…] I was ecstatic to see a package from them with their new flavors! I will get together a post for them because these were AWESOME ! Go out and try some now! Or check out my review on their other flavors HERE  […]

23 06 2009
Body Mind Soul » Weekly Recap: Wine, Caprese Salad, Pizza…

[…] I was ecstatic to see a package from them with their new flavors! I will get together a post for them because these were AWESOME ! Go out and try some now! Or check out my review on their other flavors HERE  […]

Leave a Reply

