Pad Thai

9 04 2009

Like I said, I looked at a bunch of recipes ( really over 10) and just noted all the ingredients possible/typical. Here are those ideas:

Ingredients:
Tofu
Thin sliced beef
Chopped chicken

Udon Noodles
Bean Sprouts
Shredded Cabbage
Carrots
Zuchinni
Asparagus
Mushrooms
Broccoli
Peanuts
Cashews

Liquids/ Spices to make the Sauce:
Peanut oil
Black Sesame Oil
Tamarind
Chiles
Lime
Cilantro
Rice Vinegar /Cider Vinegar
Tahini ( Sesame paste?)
Soy sauce

I already had some Thai Broth ( coconut curry) and I had balsamic vinegar ( I know there is a difference but whatever). So here are my ingredients:

Ingredients:
Udon Noodles
6 oz whole wheat linguini
1 zuchinni squash, shaved into thin strips
1 container bella mushrooms sliced
3 leaves of Bok Choy, chopped
Shredded carrot
Frozen, Thawed Pepper and Onion ( about 1 cup)
Green Onion

Natural Peanut Butter ( with the oil )
Coconut Thai Broth
Toasted Sesame Oil
Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
Salt, Pepper

All Natural Beef ( London Broil, very inexpensive)
Beef Broth

Directions:
I sliced the london broil into 1/4 inch thick slices and seared those in the skillet on high heat with sesame oil. After it seared, I guess you could say it caramelized but that is not really correct. The Maillard Reaction is responsible for the meat browning but meat does not contain sugar/carbohydrates for caramelization.

Anyhow, I had put a can of beef broth, green onions and a little more sesame oil into a crockpot and turned that on low. I dropped in the browned meat and let it cook on low for 5 hours. The fat melted from the meat and the broth gave it moisture which all made it so delicious! It doesn’t look delicious, but it was!
1 BLOG 015

For the noodles:
( While I was cooking this, I boiled the linguini to directions on another burner)
I put the Udon package into my skillet and according to the directions, they needed to boil for 3 minutes in a 1/3 cup of liquid.  Instead of water, I put in 1/3 cup of the Thai Broth and covered them , letting them cook. At that point, I added the sliced zuchinni, green onion, a little balsamic vinegar and a little sesame oil.
1 BLOG 014
Then I added in more veggies:
 1 BLOG 016
( mushrooms, bok choy) And then yes, more veggies and the linguini:1 BLOG 017

(Brussel Sprouts, Pepper and Onion Mix). I added 1 tablespoon+ of peanut butter, another 1/3 cup ish of the braising broth and another 1 teaspoon of sesame oil. Mixed it in, then added the beef ( I saved the remainder of the braising broth for some other time)

1 BLOG 018 

I added extra veggies to my bowl because well for me, there is never enough veggies

 1 BLOG 022

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 04 2009
VeggieGirl

Mmm!!

9 04 2009
Erica

owww looks like it turned out really well! I love the addition of the brussels!

9 04 2009
dailygoods

girl that meal looks GOOD! youre a chef over there!

9 04 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, I’m coming over!

9 04 2009
Erica

hahah- Josh can go through those cookies like you would not believe! If there a cookie he doesn’t like- I’ll bring them into work and they’ll be gone in a flash!

9 04 2009
Erica

that should have said if they’re not if there…

9 04 2009
Juli

Looks absolutely amazing!

9 04 2009
cleanveggiex3

HOLY MOLY!! awesome 😀 love pad thai with tempeh!

Leave a Reply

