Breakfast with Banana Bread

8 04 2009

Top o the morning to ya!

I am feeling better in the stomach so a big thank you to all of you kind, talented bloggers out there that wished me well! I really appreciate it! I think it was a combination of the beer, burger and fries on Friday and the wine and cheese saturday plus the fried fish and fries sunday! I think it hit my system harder than the average person because I typically eat much cleaner and those things are usually spread out more instead of day after day!

Breakfast:
1 BLOG 001
Smoothie ( organic milk, vanilla protein, pineapple, cherry, blueberries, banana)

I had a little leftover banana with naturally more and..
1 BLOG 002

Pumpkin Banana Bread!
1 BLOG 009
I made a “loaf” this morning in a coffee cake pan because I couldn’t find my loaf pan for whatever reason. I needed to make it because all of the bananas I had were ready to go!
Up close:
1 BLOG 010
Hmm, I love the big soft spots of bananas. Here is my usual recipe, based off of Veganomican ( I found a recipe forever ago, I have made it several times on the blog- you can find it under the search for “banana bread”)

Today’s Recipe:
3.5 very ripe bananas, mashed ( If I have more, I add more! )
1/4 cup pumpkin puree ( greek yogurt and applesauce also work well!)
1/8 cup Smart Balance Oil
1/3 cup brown sugar ( I used white, out of brown) ** I prefer this amount because I prefer less sweet, original recipe uses 1/2 cup and molasses as well **
2 cups flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour)
ΒΌ tsp baking soda
ΒΌ tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt

I just started with the wet ingredients (first three) mixing and mashing then added the sugar. Mix the reaminder of  ingredients ( dry) and added those to the wet, which is “The Muffin Mix Method” but I also did a “rapid” method because I just added it all to the same pan I cooked it in. Save on dishes and time!

I baked for about 35 minutes at 325. Some notes: I added extra bananas than the original recipe calls for ( over twice as many) so I didn’t miss the refined sugar one bit. The extra bananas and the pumpkin lend to its moistness and sweetness. It tasted much more like a “breakfast bread” should be versus a dessert loaf kind of bread. The lower refined sugar will also help keep your blood glucose more stable. I really liked the chunky soft bits of banana too!

I just had the last of the mini flying biscuits ( I had frozen it) with some strawberry preserves and green tea. I am testing this as pre-run fuel!

1 BLOG 005 

Off to workout!

Actions

Information

12 responses

8 04 2009
VeggieGirl

Hooray for feeling better and for b-bread at breakfast – yum!!

Enjoy your workout!!

8 04 2009
lauren

glad to hear your feeling better hun πŸ™‚
that bread looks so fantastically yummy πŸ™‚
have a great day!
xxxx

8 04 2009
Danielle

Banana bread… mmmmmmm πŸ˜€

8 04 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, that banana bread looks amazing!

8 04 2009
BB

Waaaaah waaaaaah I had food poisoning, waaaaaah!

KIDDING. Glad you are feeling better!

8 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

I made banana bread last night! I didn’t even think to put pumpkin in it, but that’s such a great idea!
Glad your tummy is better πŸ™‚

8 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

P.S. Not sure of Vitalicious would ship to the UK, what do you think?!

8 04 2009
dailygoods

so glad you’re feeling better and omgggg i want to dive through my computer and take a bite of that pumpkin banana bread πŸ™‚ YUM!!!!!!!

8 04 2009
Melissa

Glad to hear you are feeling better! That banana bread looks great!

8 04 2009
Sagan

Banana bread is my favorite thing to bake. So delicious! And mmm biscuits.

9 04 2009
eatlivelovedream

Thanks for the recipe!!! I will for sure be baking that up sometime real soon:)

9 04 2009
EatingRD

Glad you are feeling better πŸ™‚ my tummy does that too if I eat stuff that is way off the schedule . . . it’s like whoa what the hay are you doing?? I’m going to make you miserable now haha. That Pumpkin banana bread looks AMAZING! I love stuff like that, but that kind of stuff is very dangerous for me πŸ™‚ I’ll have to try it because every time I make a banana type bread it’s never banana-y enough for me yum!

-kristen

Leave a Reply

