"My body stays Vicious… I be up in the kitchen just eatin Vitalicious

6 04 2009

Vitalicious.. Vitalicious…

( adapted from the Fergie song, Fergilicious, for those of you who didn’t catch on!)

Vitalicious was so amazing to send out a sample of their vitatops and vitabrownies! I have seen these for quite some time and wanted to try them.  However, I wasn’t ever really sure what to expect.  I have heard they were “good” or even “great” but I didn’t understand what that really meant!

I am also really interested in this product because I have been taking a Vitamins, Minerals and Nutraceuticals Class all semester and really have been awakened to the importance of every vitamin. The antioxidant capabilities of Vitamin E, Vitamin C are crucial. The B-vitamins are essential for metabolic functions among other benefits. Functional foods are evidently becoming a part of our American diets and I don’t necessarily think that is a bad thing. I feel that it is the dietetic field adapting to what “typical American” diets have become, evolving what we want into what we need. These fast, easy, portion controlled, vitamin packed muffins are quite an example of this.
1 BLOG 019
So I opened up the package and found…
1 BLOG 020
Two of almost every flavor Vitatops and a vitabrownie box!! I was really excited but I promptly but them all into the freezer per instructions, as they remain in the freezer until you are ready to use them. You can thaw or pop em in the microwave for warmth. I took the time to read over what Vitalicious was all about and checked out their website. Here is some information …

All Vitalicious products are Kosher certified & all natural with no artificial additives or preservatives. The ideals behind their product are sound: “Get More for Your 100 Calories”. I think that is such a crucial way to look at food, especially those struggling with weight management! You should look at what you eat and really want it, really taste it, really make it “worth it”. Not necessarily every single thing, but you should get more out of what you eat than just a “yumm that tasted good” with no nutritional value to fuel your body the right way.

Here is how Vitalicious offers you more in their 100 calorie product:

More Energy-The right balance of nutrients, protein and B vitamins helps keep your energy levels high throughout the day.

More Satisfaction- All Vitalicious products contain high fiber & wholesome natural ingredients to satisfy your hunger and conquer your cravings.

More Nutrition- Our low fat, low calorie, high fiber products also contain 15 important vitamins & minerals that your body needs, such as calcium, vitamin D, iron, folic acid & more.

More Control- Each portion is worth its weight in health. Vitalicious products are 100 calories per 2 oz. serving size, so you no longer need to settle for smaller portions.

More Pleasure- 15 deliciously rich flavors to hit your sweet spot, like DeepChocolate, Fudgy Peanut Butter, Golden Corn, BananaNut & many more.

I am impressed with the Vitalicious website as a future-dietician as well! They offer lots of information about not only food, products and nutrition but links to more information about health, exercise, benefits , etc. It’s a great site so make sure to check it out!

Here is one of my reviews, which will also be displayed on The Weekly Desserts Post coming up soon because I had it this past week as a dessert one evening!

Double Chocolate Dream:
1 BLOG 008 1 BLOG 006
To thaw, I put it in the microwave for 20 seconds, and then another 10 after checking on it. It was not overly sweet nor was it too rich in chocolatey goodness. The texture was very much like a little cupcake disguised as a vitamin packed muffin! It had a wonderful cocoa aroma and warm gooey white chocolate chips. I think this is a fantastic dessert option  because you get vitamins, fiber, protein AND chocolate in a pre-portioned size, which is great for weight management and just being able to sneak in something sweet without going overboard all the time. Have your vitatops and eat them too!

Info from the website:

Ingredients:
Water, whole wheat flour, organic evaporated cane juice, egg whites, white chocolate chips (sugar, cocoa butter,whole milk, milk fat, soy lecithin, vanilla extract), cocoa (processed with alkali), soy fiber, inulin, erythritol, dried honey, wheat gluten, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), tricalcium phosphate, fruitrim (grape juice, brown rice syrup), natural flavor, lecithin, sea salt, xanthan gum, vitamin A, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, folic acid, iron, biotin, zinc. CONTAINS EGG, MILK, SOY, WHEAT

Nutrition:
Nutritional Facts for Double Chocolate Dream VitaTops (12 Muffin Tops)

I will be sharing some of these vitatops samples with my vitamins class, hopefully this week if not next! I will update their thoughts as soon as I get them!

Thank You Vitalicious!

Actions

Information

16 responses

6 04 2009
VeggieGirl

love your version of Fergie’s song, haha!! 😀

VitaTops!! Gotta love ’em.

7 04 2009
cleanveggiex3

your so lucky!!
that stash looks awesome 🙂

7 04 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, awesome!!!!!!

7 04 2009
broccolihut

Those VitaTops always look so delicious on all the blogs…I am still not convinced enough to order them online though! Do you think they’re worth it?

7 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

oh you will love these! I haven’t gotten through my stash yet!

oh and regarding the outing with the boy…it was ok, at least it wasn’t absolutely miserable,right??? lol

7 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

Very nicely done review! I’m sold! Now, if only they were sold in the UK 😉

7 04 2009
Danielle

Oh my gosh, YUM! I cannot wait to try these when I get back to the states 😀

7 04 2009
BB

Wow, those muffins look awesome! Checkin’ out there website now…thanks for the review!

7 04 2009
dailygoods

omg so jealousss! that is an AWESOME package right there! yum!

7 04 2009
EatingRD

I’m so jealous of your package!! I got a few samples when I went to FNCE last and I thought they tasted great, perfect for a portion-controlled dessert that still tastes like dessert!

-kristen

7 04 2009
Melissa

❤ vitatops, seriously. The one with PB chips is my favorite… and the Multibran.

8 04 2009
eatlivelovedream

Wow, Vita galore!!! I used to love those things before I stopped eating dairy:)

8 04 2009
Hangry Pants

I’ve never tried vitamuffins before. I guess I just never saw the big deal, but I also never thought of the “vita” part before this post. I also like how they have to go in the freezer. It’s harder to eat a bunch of stuff if it’s frozen!

Also, hope your belly is feeling better. 😀

8 04 2009
Sara

Wow, thanks for the review!! I am very jealous of your sampler pack 🙂 I was just thinking this week that I would try to get to a Whole Foods store and find some of these (never been to Whole Foods, but I’ve heard great things and the website says that’s where I can find the muffins!!). Your review has made up my mind 🙂

Have a great night!

8 04 2009
A Week in Desserts.. « Body Mind Soul

[…] Also nutrient rich and delicious and in the freezer, A Vitalicious Vitatop. […]

8 04 2009
Andrea (Off Her Cork)

Wow what an amazing package! 😀

Leave a Reply

