Thursday: Yeast Bread Lab, Speedy Run, Weekend of Fun!

3 04 2009

Dinner:1 BLOG 028
I had already made chicken from yesterday ( I cooked them in the skillet with salt and pepper) so I heated those up with some frozen veggies and lemon pepper seasoning and balsamic vinegar. I made some Kashi Pilaf (original) and mixed it with Creamy Parmesean Rice from rice a roni ( all natural, no preservatives) ( made with organic 0% milk)

Easy, quick, and healthy.

Snack from Lab:
A Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Yeast Roll.
1 BLOG 018 

Lunch:
 
1 BLOG 011

Pumpkin puree, banana, blueberry chobani, Cabot Cottage Cheese
1 BLOG 012
Organic Fuji

1 BLOG 010

and I had pb&j because on my Gastronomy Calendar, it is “National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day”

 

Breakfast:
1 BLOG 009
I made another smoothie ( I really like having these as my breakfasts in the mornings because I go to the gym midmorning or as soon as I feel digested enough to go and these seem to always feel the best)
1 BLOG 007
I had an extra bowl of fruit ( strawberries, (wild organic) blueberries and pineapple with some Quaker Oatmeal Squares for crunch and some healthy Naturally More flaxseed butter.

Body:

am workout:
4.2 mile run! It was raining today so I did a little speedy session on the treadmill! Recently, I have been going slower on the treadmill because I have been building up distance which is my main concern in training for races. However, today was all fun and speed! I was back at my 7:30 minute pace and did my speedwork at 6:18 minute mile speed.

It felt fantastic! I did the 20 minuute Detox Yoga after.

pm workout:
30 Day Shred, with Jeff! ( He was sweating like crazy and was really suprised I think at how good of a workout it is!)

Mind:

Studying for exam

Yeast Bread Lab!

So we made yeast bread today and did a Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Recipe…

Ingredients ( from The New Basics Cookbook)

1 package active dry yeast

½ cup warm water (105-115°F)

¼ teaspoon plus 3 tablespoons sugar

2 ½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour

½ cup whole-wheat flour

1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

½ cup walnut pieces, toasted and chopped

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1/3 cup water

1 cup raisins

Directions

  1. Stir the yeast, warm water, and ¼ teaspoon sugar together in small bowl. Let the mixture stand until the yeast starts foaming, 5 to 10 minutes.

1 BLOG 015

  1. Combine the flours, the remaining 3 tablespoons sugar, the cinnamon, salt, and walnuts in a large (mixing) bowl and mix well.

1 BLOG 013

  1. Stir in the yeast mixture, butter and 1/3 cup water into the flour mixture. Then stir in the raisins or work them in by hand. Let stand for 10 minutes.
  1. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead until it is smooth and elastic, about 7 minutes.
  1. Lightly oil a large bowl, and turn the dough in it to coat it with the oil. Cover the bowl loosely with a kitchen towel and let the dough rise in a warm place until it is doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.
  1. Oil a 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pan * or grease a pan and make rolls instead of a loaf with dough.
  1. Punch the dough down, and shape it into a loaf. Press it into the prepared pan and cover it loosely. Let the dough rise until it nearly fills the pan, 45 to 60 minutes.
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  1. Bake the bread until the top is browned and the bottom sounds hollow when tapped with your finger, 35 to 40 minutes.
  1. Remove the bread from the pan and let it cool on a wire rack.

My hands were pretty messy the rest of the steps so no photos. We had to activate the yeast with warm water and sugar ( which feeds the yeast). We had to heat the water to a temperature between 108 – 115 * F because otherwise we would kill the yeast or not activate it.

We added the dry ingredients and nuts to the mixer- and did not add the raisins until after punching the dough in step 7.

* Here is a group comparison of “the crumb” The right and left are just slightly undercooked because of the darker streaks, the middle is quite consistent with little sponge holes throughout.
1 BLOG 016 

Here is my groups, out of the oven:
1 BLOG 017
And the inside
1 BLOG 018
Everyone told me I was putting in too many raisins but I was just trying to get them in the inside! We cooked ours for 20 minutes and thank goodness for carryover cooking, because we couldn’t wait any longer!!

These were really tasty but I would have liked them more with peanut butter … or more cinnamon… or lots of other thing…

Soul:

Have you guys checked out Moran at The Running Addict ?  She is a running addict, a blogger, and she has become a great friend of mine in this blogosphere. She sent me songs from the Pussycat Dolls !!! I am so pumped for new music to run to! I hope I can download them to my ipod alright! THANK YOU MORAN! You are THE BEST and made my day!

In other news, random people keep ringing our doorbell at random times in the day and its starting to really creep me out. First its the old lady a cross the street trying to break in because she has alzheimers and thought it was her house ( yes this really happened and this has been the most normal/logical of all of these) and now it has been about 5 times in the past week or so. All different people. The other day it was a random person that walked away down the street.  Today, it was a guy that walked up to the bus stop a few houses away and got on the bus after. No idea why he only came to our house and rang the doorbell and left. ? I am creeped out.

Brother in Laws Birthday is Saturday
Caroline’s birthday ( party) is Saturday ( its really the 6th )
Timmy’s birthday is Saturday
This means that… celebrations will be occuring !

Actions

Information

10 responses

3 04 2009
BB

No such thing as too many raisins!

And door-bell bandits? That is ultra creepy. Be careful, girl!

3 04 2009
Sharon

I’m drooling over that roll!

3 04 2009
Moran

You are too sweet!!! I am glad you liked them! Let me know which other ones you would like!
I am so impressed Jeff did the Shred with you!

3 04 2009
broccolihut

What a fabulous Chobani combo!

I totally need to get me a gastronomy calendar–that is SO my kind of thing:)

3 04 2009
lauren

hi hun
that cinamon raisin roll looks so good 🙂
wow your running pace is awesome, my miles are probably 10 mins a mile lol.
and the doorbell thing is creepy, be careful girlie
much love
xxxx

3 04 2009
dailygoods

that bread looks so good! make me some! 🙂 haha. and woah girl, celebration weekend! celebrrateeee good timess COME ON!!! 🙂 (singin a song here, hope you get that) have a wonderful weekend my dear! cantw ait to see pics of all the fun !

3 04 2009
Melissa

Too many raisens? BAH. They look fab!

3 04 2009
Sagan

Mmmm bread looks super good. Have a great time with all those celebrations!

4 04 2009
EatingRD

I LOVE making fresh bread! There is nothing like it coming steaming fresh from the oven 🙂 It’s just so neat how a few simple ingredients can turn into a great loaf of hearty goodness.

-kristen

I’m piloting a new site/business and the demo site at demo.eatingrd.com is up and I’d love to hear your feedback!

4 04 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

What a fun lab! The rolls look so ooey gooey inside, just the way I like ’em!
LOTS of birthays coming up! That means…cake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

