Gnu Way to Reduce Cholesterol and Fill up on Fiber

2 04 2009

Gnu Foods were so gracious to send me a sampling of their fiber bars!

1 BLOG 001

 1 BLOG 006

 
I was excited to try these for several reasons. I have several posts regarding the importance of fiber and the different types. My dad ( who always takes nutrition bars with him for snacks on his long teaching days) actually has high blood cholesterol. One of the things he has a hard time finding is bars with a high soluble fiber content that tastes good! Soluble fiber, which helps literally extract the cholesterol from the body, also has an additional benefit because it requires the liver to pull out more cholesterol from the blood to form bile salts.

If you are interested in reading more about cholesterol, check out my post here…

I was also interested in trying them because I have to incorporate more snacks due to my training and studying schedules. Many bars out there are starting to offer whole grains more so I think these could be a great healthy option for getting in whole grains vs. refined. In general, the average american statistically does not meet the daily fiber recommendations ( about 30 g fiber per day).

Dieticians realize that we could recommend eating more whole grains, vegetables and fiber and beans until we are blue in the face, but some people just won’t do it if its not convenient! Fast, pre-portioned options seem easier so making those options healthy is a great way to adapt to not only what people want, but what people need as well. 

( all of these bars have this warming: CONTAIN WHEAT AND PSYLLIUM. MANUFACTURED ON EQUIPMENT THAT PROCESSES PEANUTS AND TREE NUTS.)

First up, Banana Walnut
1 BLOG 0041 BLOG 014 1 BLOG 007

I took one bite and thought “This will be my favorite!”. The banana flavor was delicious! You know how banana foods often taste “flavored” with banana- well this was filled with soft pieces of banana, giving it real flavor! Chewy, nutty and fruity all in one little whole grain bar! I really enjoyed this one because of the heart healthy nuts and potassium filled bananas are two things I always enjoy!  Here is the info:

Ingredients:

Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, walnuts, rice, plums, banana, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

Banana Walnut Nutrition, 1 bar provides:

Calories 140

Total Fat 4g

Saturated Fat 0g

Trans Fat 0g

Cholesterol 0mg

Sodium 40mg

Total Carbohydrate 30g

  Dietary Fiber 12g

Soluble Fiber 9g
Insoluble Fiber 3g

Sugars 8g
Other Carbohydrate 10g

Protein4g

Okay, next up..

Cranberry Orange:
1 BLOG 014
I took one bite and immediately switched my favorite to this one, Cranberry Orange!  The fruit definitely bursts with each bite, which are chewy and refreshing! It was sweet and had a great orange and cranberry aroma.

Ingredients:
Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, raisins, apples, canola oil, plums, cranberries, rice, natural flavors, wheat protein isolate, baking powder.

Nutrition:

Calories 130

Total Fat 3g

Saturated Fat 0g

Trans Fat 0g

Cholesterol 0mg

Sodium 35 mg

Total Carbohydrate 32g

  Dietary Fiber 12g

Soluble Fiber 9g
Insoluble Fiber 4 g

Sugars 11 g
Other Carbohydrate 9g

Protein 3 g

Overall, I think these two bars are absolutely fantastic! That said, I am not quite sure about the other flavors yet because the chocolate smelled a little more like flavored-chocolate so I don’t think it could fill my chocolate cravings.  I will be saving a few to send to my parents to try as well. I think they will love them! 
Thank you Gnu Foods!

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 04 2009
meloncauliflower

i am obsessed with gnu bars! so good!

3 04 2009
Hangry Pants

I LOVE gnu bars. I think you will enjoy the cinnamon raisin as well!

3 04 2009
Melissa

I love the cinnamon raisen the best.

Leave a Reply

