Awesome Almonds Are..

31 03 2009

AWESOME!!! Thank you to Cheryl at Dr. Lankins Awesome Almonds for sending me this package to review!

1 BLOG 012

Honestly, as soon as popped these into my mouth I said out loud, ” Wow, these are awesome!!”

Here is why I love almonds, especially as a future dietician:
For a serving of Almonds, you get a ton of healthy nutrients!
( I linked all of the nutrients listed with the posts that I have regarding those nutrients, so click on protein below if you would like to know more about protein, click on PUFA if you would like to know more about PUFA’s etc. !). In general one serving of regular almonds provides :

I immediately tried two flavors and will update here when I try the orange-vanilla almonds!

Cocoa Java:
1 BLOG 011

Ingredients:
Almonds, beet sugar, water, cocoa, coffee, pure vanilla extract, and natural vitamin E to preserve freshness.

Nutrition: 1 oz:

  • 170 calories
  • 10g fat
    • 2 g PUFA
    • 7 g MUFA
  • 18g Carbohydrates
    • 2g fiber
    • 14g Sugar
  • 4 g protein

Sensory Evaluation:

These guys are very dark, which a java cocoa almond should be! They smell sweet but very  much like coffee. They have the slightest hint of coffee in the taste, its not over-powering. They also have a sweet cocoa taste but not too “chocolatey”. The almonds themselves tasted buttery and smooth, having a crunchy texture with their coating. There is no artificial aftertaste or syrup or oily taste as I noticed with Emerald’s Cocoa Almonds I have tried here.  What I also enjoy is the melt into your mouth instead of staying crunchy or harsh, they are very smooth after the initial crunch.

* I shared these with my lab group today and they enjoyed them as well!*

Cinnamon Vanilla:
1 BLOG 010 

Ingredients:
almonds, beet sugar, water, cinnamon, pure vanilla extract, and natural vitamin E to preserve freshness.

Nutrition in 1 oz:

  • 170 calories
  • 10g fat
    • 2 g PUFA
    • 7 g MUFA
  • 19g Carbohydrates
    • 2g fiber
    • 16g sugar
  • 4 g protein

Sensory Evaluation:
Immediately after opening the bag, I had a fantastic aroma of cinnamon and vanilla. It actually reminded me of christmas time! These guys are coated in cinnamon and real vanilla extract, dark brown and look crispy. They smell so delicious, just like a cinnamon almond would. They aren’t sticky or covered in powder as some coated nut brands are.  They taste sweet but also rather spicy adding a nice kick. The crunchiness easily smoothes away after eating, so you really get many textures going at once.  Again, these had great flavors reflected by their ingredients, no oils or artificial coloring, or preservatives!

I will buy these in the future! I really enjoyed them especially in comparison to the Emerald Dark Cocoa Almonds I tried which had a fake-sweetener coating to reduce calories. It left a really gross aftertaste. The Dr. Lankins were WORLDS better! 

I have also reviewed Sahale Snacks, which were in my opinion equally fantastic but different than Dr. Lankins. Sahale offers little dried bits of fruit with their nuts and are not specific to almonds. I enjoy getting a variety of nuts so if you are interested in getting in more almonds in a really tasty way, I would highly recommend the Dr. Lankins. If you were interested in more of a trail mix type of nut with fruit, go with Sahale. If you like the idea of either- TRY BOTH!

The negatives: I haven’t seen these in any store where I live so ideally I would have to order them in advanced if I wanted to have some or take them on a trip.

Thank you very much Cheryl and Dr. Lankins Almonds for creating a fantastic product!

Actions

Information

12 responses

31 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Oooh, delightful!!

1 04 2009
Erica

Wow these sound and look very interesting! Good stuff! Thank you for the review

1 04 2009
Sharon

oh wow, sounds delicious!

1 04 2009
Hangry Pants

Oooh the cinnamon vanilla almonds sound delicious!

1 04 2009
EatingRD

Those look great, I would love to try the cinnamon vanilla! I’m a cinnamon addict 🙂

1 04 2009
Sweet and Fit

gosh, you are so lucky! those almonds look and sounds like they are not just delicious but also so good for you too! I never knew about all those health benefits.

1 04 2009
Sarah

1 minute ago i ate so many almonds I said to myself “this cannot be healthy”….funny that this is the first thing I read on your blog

1 04 2009
Caroline

Just when I thought almonds couldn’t get any better…where do you find these guys? I’d like to give ’em a whirl.

1 04 2009
Marija

I thought almonds couldn’t be better, but then I read your post. Mmmmm… these sound delicious! I like your blog a lot, so since I’m running a similar one at http://www.thehealthiesthabits.com, are you interested in exchanging links?
Regards,
Marija

1 04 2009
BB

Yummy!

1 04 2009
dailygoods

those look soo good! cinnamon vanilla bag would be gone in .2 seconds if it were in my hands! i loveeee that 🙂 what an awesome package you got girl!!

1 04 2009
Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food)

The almonds looks so good! Thanks for the reviews!

Leave a Reply

