Chicken Parm For Two

24 03 2009

Dinner:

1 BLOG 020
I made Chicken Parm For Two, even though I made all of the pasta and loads of sauce because those both will be great for the rest of this week! I have wanted to make this for quite some time! I did not base this off of any particular recipe, so I will do my best at re-telling what I did. I have been making versions of chicken parm for about…6 years now and thanks to the blog I have been able to finally start keeping track of HOW!

Tomato sauce:

  • 1  teaspoon  olive oil ( I used my Newman’s Own Organic)
  • 1  cup chopped onion ( I didn’t measure but I used half of an onion and I was practicing my dicing skills..)
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1  (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes with garlic
  • 1 can Hunt’s Chunky Vegetable Pasta Sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1  tablespoon  dried basil
  • 1  tablespoon  balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper

 1 BLOG 007
So I browned this onion with garlic and the olive oil until brown and smelling delicious ( past sweat stage, before full caramelization).

Then, I added the crushed tomatoes, the vegetable pasta sauce and brought that up to a simmmmmmaahh ( wow that came out of nowhere but it was fun to type). At that point, I added the  remainder of the ingredients ( herbs, vinegar, seasoning)

 1 BLOG 009

and dropped the heat to low.

Chicken:

  • 1/8  cup  Whole Grain Pastry flour
  • 1/8  cup  grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/8  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 2  (4-ounce) skinned, boneless chicken breasts, flattened with my meat-beater to 1/4 inch thickness. I don’t really have a meat beater- I used a skillet and the chicken was in between plastic.
  • 1  teaspoon olive oil ( or cooking spray for the pan)
    For on top: 
  • 1  slice provolone cheese
  • 1/8 cup grated parmesan cheese

On the side:

  • Pasta- I did whole wheat linguini cooked to box directions

1 BLOG 011

To make the chicken:

Preheat oven to 350° Combine flour,1/8th cup Parmesan, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper ( I put it onto a large plate). Flatten chicken breasts using plastic wrap around each breast and a meat-beater or rolling pin. Dredge chicken in flour mixture. Heat oil or cooking spray in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; I cooked approximately 7 minutes on each side- so pretty much completely done.  Lay a sheet of aluminum  foil into a  7×7 -inch baking dish or use more spray etc. Pour the tomato sauce over the chicken.
Add slice of cheese, add parmesan cheese-  Bake at 350° for 15 minutes. Serve over linguine.

1 BLOG 012

Here is my plate:

1 BLOG 017

Okay so that was delicious! I am completely happy and ready to watch dancing with the stars! Here is a quick recap for today:

Body:
Shred: Level 3

Yoga! I finally was able to download the Detox #1 from yogadownload.com and Boy did it feel AMAZING! I needed that so badly!

I also tried out a new yoga site from Polly– I had found yesterday through Abbie of FoodsthatFit. I did the 10 minutes of Yoga for runners and boy, was that also INCREDIBLE! I will definitely be checking her out for more yoga!

I also took Jack Brown for a 20 minute walk around the neighborhood.

It was great to get in some light exercise and stretching after that long run yesterday!

Mind:
Studied studied studied ! I posted the first section of material on Vitamin A ( I left out a ton too) and went through Iron and Folate as well so I am in a good spot!

I also remembered the terminology quiz was pushed back to tomorrow- so I need to refresh with that , probably tomorrow morning.

Soul:
I studied outside on our patio for a little while- it was great to have Jack out there and be in the sun!

Dancing with The Stars! Oh and I am getting ready to book a flight to see my brother!!! I worked out some finances and have been trying to save up for it anyway so that is so very exciting!

I almost forgot- here are the rest of my eats from today…and you may notice, I am adding in morning snacks and afternoon now because of the training schedule- I am going to need serious fuel! 

Afternoon Snack:1 BLOG 004
Salad with salsa, veggies, hummus, goat cheese and apple slices

“Lunch”
1 BLOG 003

I don’t think a diet should rely on these kinds of bars for meals by any means- but with the studying on campus, it was out of the ordinary to be at the library and I knew I would be getting home soon for some fresh foods. This bar was also mostly organic and very healthy ingredients, it tastes fantastic and it has 16g of protein! Plus, Odwalla is such a great company!

Morning Snack: Smoothie made with aria protein, pineapple and mango.. I missed Jay Robb protein.
1 BLOG 004

The best way to start any day…breakfast with a smile
1 BLOG 002
Old Fashioned Oats with water and protein, and a Pineapple Smiley Face!

Best way to end a day too! Night yall!

Actions

Information

10 responses

24 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Classic dish!!

Hooray for yoga!!

24 03 2009
Erica

You know I love cihcken parm and yours looks incredible! I always make extra sauce- you can use it on so many things! Its even fab on veggies! Great recipe!!!

Yayyyyy Jay Robb! I bought my protein from http://www.bestpricenutrition.com Love it!

24 03 2009
Sharon

WHOAAAA chicken parm!! I want some!!!

24 03 2009
Caroline

Love those SuperProtein bars! I am diggin that oatmeal smile too:)

24 03 2009
Sara

Great recipe!

Wasn’t Dancing with the Starts good tonight??

24 03 2009
BB

Yum! It all looks really good!

24 03 2009
Lesley Borger

Your chicken parm looks delicious!! Yum! (Great idea making extra pasta and sauce!)

Ha, and that’s a very lovely pinneaple smiley face : )

24 03 2009
lauren

hi girlie
haha i love the oatmeal face, your so cute!!
great eats, everything looks great!
i love odwalla bars, theyre so tasty.
glad you enjoyed the yoga,
have a wonderful night hun
xxxx

24 03 2009
Melissa

Cute bowl of oats – it reminds me of a jack-o-lantern…. maybe you should add some pumpkin next time. hehe

24 03 2009
Lara

I think this is one of the yummiest looking meals on your blog, which says a lot because there are many! I just love that this is homecooked comfort food made HEALTHY and is still delicious.

Leave a Reply

