“… actually a pretty nice little Saturday..

22 03 2009

we’re going to go to Home Depot… Maybe Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I don’t know, I don’t know if we’ll have enough time” – Old School, Frank the Tank.

Saturday Breakfast: Aria Smoothie!

So this was my first try of the Aria Protein. I decided to buy it because 1. The brand is Designer Whey and I usually enjoy their products. 2. It was on sale ….

I used 1/2 cup each of frozen mango, frozen blueberries, and frozen pineapple, half a banana, 1 Tbsp ground flax seed, ~ 3 cups organic milk and 2 scoops of the Aria protein.
1 BLOG 001
We had to take it with us on the way to helping our friend #1 move ( Hi Hanz!). The smoothie was okay, the aria protein was very powdery. Some of my sips have a very chaulky protein taste. The texture was very powdery and did not dissolve as easily as other proteins I have tried. It wasn’t bad but really didn’t have much flavor despite being “chocolate” so I will continue to use it but I probably wouldn’t buy it again.

Starbucks ( venti Cafe Estima)
1 BLOG 002

Fast fruity pizza lunch:
Whole Wheat Trader joes pizza dough
NOO Dried Apples
NOO Dried Berry Blend
1 BLOG 006
Goat Cheese
Goat’s Milk Brie

I just threw everything on top.. Whole grains and organic fruits –> fiber!
1 BLOG 007

Baked for less than 8 minutes at 450* in my toaster oven. Voila

1 BLOG 008
The sweet salty combo was pretty FABULOUS! Texture hit the spot completely!

After lunch, we organized a rock garden, got rid of our old firepit, cleaned out the horseshoe pits and the shed foundation, and added a patio set from our friends! ( Thank you Timmy and Brittany!)

Melting Pot for Dinner.

We were out for my brother’s girlfriend’s birthday  ( Happy Birthday Rachael!).

Since my blog also addresses how I make choices rather what my choices are for the meals and foods I eat, I wanted to preface that this menu was pre-chosen as we were a large party group. I enjoyed the meal very much (it was nice not to have to decide for a change) but I may or may not have chosen all of this for myself.

Of course, I mentioned the blog to my fellow diners because I was going to be taking pictures any minute. I’ve noticed it has been much easier talking about the blog before I start snapping away – makes for an interesting night of conversation!
1 BLOG 009
Merlot..

Starter:
1 BLOG 010
A wisconsin cheddar and a fiesta cheese fondue… To dip: apples, veggies, bread cubes, and chips.

I really enjoyed both cheeses. We specifically make the fiesta cheese “very hot” but it was not too spicy. I didn’t expect the spicy fiesta cheese to go well with the apples but it was really a tasty combo.

A mixed green salad with tomatoes, blue cheese crumbles and raspberry vinegarette.
1 BLOG 011

Entree: Meat Fondue, a selection of meats and vegetables, with vegetable broth and a burgundy broth for cooking. We threw in the veggies right away…
1 BLOG 012

Everyone was so NICE to decide on one separate bowl for their shellfish and meat touching it. I had the beef, the salmon, and a piece of the chicken.
1 BLOG 013
The meat was really nice quality meat and the cooking broth was tasty. I think fondue meat is a great “idea” but in reality… We had no idea if our meats had cooked long enough! You are told how long to cook your meats but none of us had a watch on. It would be a nice idea to get timers for their guests because undercooked meat is no joke ( I just finished our food principles class on cooking meats too.

Dessert: Tiramisu Fondue, Smores and Flaming Turtle
1 BLOG 016 1 BLOG 017
1 BLOG 015
Dippers: strawberries, cheesecake, rice krispie treates, bananas and marshmallows.
1 BLOG 014

Body:

I wanted to get in a run today but with TWO sessions of Jillian 30 Day Shred yesterday and all the lifting/moving of this morning, I was not feeling it at all! My neck hurt, my knee felt rickety, and I was just blah. I did one loop ( 2.92 ) miles at a slow jog, walked a little more and called it a day.

I was happy to take it easy and finally feel up for a true “rest”. Tomorrow (sunday) I am planning on a nice long run ( 9 miles- 3 loops)

Mind:
I just looked over the first section of material for the exam but will get much more going tomorrow and monday.

Soul:

Out with my brother, for a birthday celebration! And, I love helping people move. The yard is looking much better too so it was great to get in some outside, active time as well.

Actions

Information

9 responses

22 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Great smoothie, pizza, and fondue!!

Have fun celebrating tonight!!

22 03 2009
lauren

sorry the service was bad hun! but at least you enjoyed the company 🙂
have a great sunday!
xxx

22 03 2009
Moran

Wow the plate of sweets looks delicious!!!

22 03 2009
Sara

I LOVE Old School! Great movie!!

Glad you enjoyed the Melting Pot…it’s hard sometimes when the choices are pre-selected for you. I’ve been a couple times so it’s kind of easier to gauge when the meats are done; I teased my friend when we went on Friday because she got her phone out to time everything 🙂 But it was probably a good idea!

23 03 2009
Sweet and Fit

you are so sweet for helping people move! I wish everyone was so nice and helpful around here. I really like the melting pot, ut you are completely right about not knowing if your meat has cooked long enough – its like you dont want the meat to over cook but at the same time you dont want it to be raw either =( gluck studying for the exam! I am totally slacking with this paper I need to be writing!

23 03 2009
Hangry Pants

I am sorry about your Melting Pot experience. I had such a great time when I went there a few weeks ago, but I didn’t get meat, only veggies. I did think it was odd that they gave you nothing to determine if the meat was done. Also, sorry about the dessert. Again, mine looked and tasted so yummy.

23 03 2009
Caroline

Hehe, love the matching smoothies!

23 03 2009
dailygoods

haha old school… you are my girl!!!! love it 🙂 sorry the service stunk! that erks me too… theres a melting pot right by my house and i’ve always wanted to try it! the dessert would be my fav part for sure!

23 03 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

I recognized those pics as Melting Pot right away—I dream about that place! So amazing. I can’t decide if my favorite is the cheese course or the dessert. YUM!

Leave a Reply

