Sunshine is back to Grey…’s Anatomy

20 03 2009

I just finished watching Wheel of Fortune, still in a puzzle mood I guess.

Breakfast:
I made one serving of quick cook Steel Cut Oats ( 1/2 cup) with water
I added 1/4 cup frozen blueberries and pineapple and natural peanut butter and the last little bit of greek yogurt (Fage 0%)
1 BLOG 002
I was still hungry so I had a half a banana with some more peanut butter.
1 BLOG 003
I was still really hungry after the banana but I had to study and didn’t want to fuss anymore with food. I also knew it would only be a couple hours before I ate again too- This was definitely not enough protein for me.

Mini Lunch:
I finally remembered to go easy on lunch because I would be eating again in 2 hours from lab, with today being chicken, I knew I would be munching again. So I chose a smoothie with:
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup water
1/2 scoop protein
1/2 banana
Blueberries/Mango
1 BLOG 004

Snack/ Lab Eval:

Chicken Picatta
1 BLOG 008

Tandoori Chicken
1 BLOG 009
Beef Stew

1 BLOG 011
Fried Chicken
1 BLOG 010

Pre Run Snack:
NOO Organic Apricots and a Whole Grain Peanut Butter Organic Brownie

Dinner:  
1 BLOG 021
Leftover chicken picatta from last night- The sauce got even better overnight! I heated up lots of frozen veggies and I made… French Fries!

I used a combo of smart balance oil and NOO Oil and shallow-fried three julienned white potatoes. Whites are waxier than russets but still higher in starch than a “waxy” potato like reds or fingerlings or red la soda.

Delicious!
1 BLOG 020

Body:

My Day 10 (? – I don’t know how to count my days- do I include rest days as part of the 30 days? ) of 30 Day Shred Challenge… Oh, that jillian. I put on XM radio from my TV (hits from the 90’s) and didn’t listen to Jillian. I find that she talks too much. Does anyone else notice that she talks about how there should be “no breaks in 20 minutes, you want results you gotta be working the whole time” but then between stuff she stops to talk !? 

I did Level 2 with my 8 lb dumbell ( I alternate one hand with the other…or use just one dumbell if I can) and then I did the first 2 circuits of Level 3. 

I was going to rest from running today but it was GORGEOUS! If you have read my posts since Friday of last week- It has been raining raining raining! It is supposed to rain this evening too! So when I left Food Principles class, the sun was shining and it was a breezy 72*.

Jack Brown was “telepathically” telling me to take him for a run… 1 BLOG 012 1 BLOG 013 1 BLOG 014

So we ran around the neighborhood, out and back is just about 4 miles +

I have run just over 27 miles in the past 8 days…. I am definitely feeling close to a marathon

Mind:

Our terminology quiz was pushed back to Tuesday! I didn’t exactly get as much studying done as I wanted to but I felt fine going in- oh well-

I was surprised in lab today when the professor made me switch groups! A girl dropped out and left one group of 2 girls… so I had to leave my FABULOUS 3 lab partners and even out groups.

Having to immediately adjust to a new kitchen with new partners was harder than I thought at first! Especially when our group just clicked so well, we were always having a great time. It was the cutest though, when they finished their recipe- they gave me a plate and a folded napkin to sample with them! I heart you guys!

My new lab group and I made Tandoori Chicken but other recipes made in lab today were Beef Stew, Southern Fried Chicken and the Chicken Picatta I had made yesterday.

Recipe adapted from Williams and Sonoma…
1 BLOG 005

Ingredients2 chicken breast halves, bone-in1 tablespoon lemon juice* When chicken is ready to bake: 1 tablespoon canola oil **For the marinade (cut in ½)1 ½ cups low-fat plain yogurt1 small onion, chopped2 cloves garlic1 tablespoon peeled and grated fresh ginger2 teaspoons ground coriander2 teaspoons ground cumin1 teaspoon paprika¼ teaspoon each, ground turmeric, cardamom, and cinnamon1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
 Directions1. Remove the skin from the chicken breasts, place in a small baking dish, and brush with lemon juice.

Select a baking pan large enough to hold the chicken in a single layer
2. Make the marinade:
In a blender or food processor, combine the yogurt, onion, garlic, ginger, coriander, cumin, paprika, turmeric, cardamom, cinnamon, and cayenne. Process until thoroughly combined.

3. Pour the marinade over the chicken and stir to coat well. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate, turning occasionally, for at least 8 hours or overnight.

  1. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.
  2. Remove plastic wrap from chicken, drizzle chicken with oil.
  3. Roast until the chicken shows no sign of pink when the thickest parts are cut into near the bone and an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the breast registers 170 degrees F  ( took us 30 minutes).NOTES:  Sear the chicken breasts prior to marinating with salt and pepper. The spices were definitely “tandoori” but the chicken itself and the sauce for that matter came out “bland” yet flavorful. The searing might help the spices develop better as well. More yogurt = more creaminessMy fabulous old group made the Chicken Picatta using recipe as I posted yesterday…. with the stock and the butter… and chicken thighs as well as breasts.
    1 BLOG 007
    It was DELICIOUS, the thigh meat was of course more flavorful because it is higher in fat. The bits in the pan got crispy as well which was delicious.

    The beef stew was sweeter than I would have preferred, and I think their beef did not sear as well either because it was more gray in color vs. a nice pungent brown.

    I also tasted the fried chicken… it was fried chicken. It was tasty if you like fried chicken but I have never enjoyed fried chicken… too greasy for me.  

    Soul:

    What a bummer about switching lab groups!? It did make coming over to my group at the end even better because we all get along so well. On the positive side, I really like to meet new people even if it is forced. One of my new group members just ran a marathon a couple weeks ago and is training for another one May 2 ! With my competitive nature, that was an instant inspiration to get my butt moving on an actual marathon date for myself.

    I absolutely LOVE nice weather, I know I said it before, but it is a serious instant boost in my mood, my outlook on the world, ah.

    My sister got an offer on her house! She has been trying to sell it for what, about a year now ?  The downside is that she probably can’t do girls weekend in April.

    I found a ” pretty ” good deal on a flight to see my brother… the downside is that it is still a lot of money.

 

Actions

Information

13 responses

20 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Lots of deliciousness!!

Love Jack Brown 😀

Congratulations to your sister!!

20 03 2009
peanutbutterandjuli

Gotta get my protein too! Congrats to your sister- and glad you got some outside run time 🙂

My mouth is watering at that chicken…

20 03 2009
Dori

YES I agree about Jillian’s talking! Please tell me what level 3 is like I can’t even imagine!

20 03 2009
Lara

I don’t know how you manage to be in school and have your workload and still make wonderful meals, blog, and run. When I was in school, it was a challenge just to physically be everywhere I needed to be (campus, work, etc)! you rock!

20 03 2009
Hangry Pants

I don’t think I knew you were planning to do a marathong. V. exciting. Glad the weather has improved on you and your sister’s house might get sold – that is so tough these days!

20 03 2009
Caroline

Jack Brown is supah-cute!

20 03 2009
Sara

I love nice weather too…if it weren’t for my family being here, I would love to move somewhere that is warm year-round.

It was my competitive nature that led me to sign up for my first marathon too! 27 miles this week is quite a bit, I think you could definitely do it 🙂

20 03 2009
Moran

Congrats to your sister!!!
Your title made me realise I have missed so many Grey’s episodes…

20 03 2009
Leanne

Thanks for tip about Oikos at Walmart. I didn’t even think to look because I don’t generally shop there, but if they have Oikos then I will definitely make a special trip!

20 03 2009
Erica

HEYYYYYYYYY How are you? Fabulous post- look at that din din! And you know I love me some Jack! Give him a little pet for me (and a kiss on that adorable nose).

OK- so first off- how thrilled am I that ya’ll are going to try to go cleaner too- hooooray! My thought on snacks are this- I think snacks are fine as long as they stay within the guidelines. Also, for me…I’m trying to watch that ratio of carbs/protein/fat so I would just try to make certain that your snacks aren’t pushing you wayyyyyyyy over on one of those. Let me know what you think?

20 03 2009
Lesley Borger

Mmmm, those breakfast blueberries look very tasty : )

Ha, love your dog!

20 03 2009
BB

Awww, lucky dog got to go on a run!

And congrats to your sis– I’m sure that is a huge weight off her shoulders.

Marathon?! You totally should!!!

20 03 2009
Sagan

That marinade looks super good! And cute cute puppy 🙂

PS I must confess, sometimes I have 2 bowls of oatmeal in a row. When I get too carb heavy then I just want to come back for moremoremore. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

