Happy St. Patrick’s Day

18 03 2009

Update for last night:

Dessert was PB& J Yogurt with half a banana. Fage 0% and a spoonful of strawberry preserves tasted wonderful!

1 BLOG 002

Breakfast:
1 BLOG 003
Banana Mango Smoothie with Wheat Germ and a little side of quick cook steel cut oats ( I sprinkled pistachio pudding on top to make it a little green in St. Paddy’s Day spirit).

I had more St. Paddy Day spirit in lunch
1 BLOG 004
A serving of extra firm tofu that I had sprinkled with Ranch Seasoning, heated in a pan with 1 egg white, scrambled with lots of green and white: spinach, zuchinni, brussel sprouts,onion and cauliflower ( all frozen and heated in the microwave before the skillet) on top of goat cheese w/ chives inside a whole wheat wrap. I had to take this with me on the way to class,hence the plastic wrap.

Snack for between classes:
Unpictured banana that was going brown and a serving of the Newman’s Own Organic White Cheddar Soy Crisps. Both were the easiest to grap as I was in a rush to get to class.

Dinner:
 1 BLOG 006

A bowl of chili with cornbread and a little shredded cheese and Fage.
Now I did this as a guest post for Love of Oats, but I didn’t post the recipe so here was my recipe for this particular chili:

1 package ground meat ( I used lean ground turkey)
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans
1 large container crushed tomatoes ( 16 oz)
1 large container crushed tomatoes with garlic (16 oz)
1 green pepper, washed and chopped
1 clove minced garlic
Seasonings ( to my taste)
Paprika ( 2 tablespoons)
Cumin ( 1 tsp)
Coriander ( 1/2 tsp)
Mrs. Dash Spicy (1 tsp)
Crushed Red Pepper Flakes ( 1 tsp)
Ground Cayenne Pepper ( 1 tsp)
Frank’s Hot Sauce ( added as needed)

Directions:
I browned the meat with the garlic, paprika and chopped green pepper. I threw that into the crock pot after it had browned. Added the rest of the ingredients and let it simmer for about 3 hours.

Cornbread Casserole:
Dry:
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 cup whole grain pastry flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
Wet:
1 Tb butter, melted or softened very well ( I used smart balance regular)
1 egg
1 egg white
1 container nonfat greek yogurt
3/4  can fresh corn
3/4 can cream corn
( I added the remainder of both corn cans to my chili for fun).

Directions:
Mix dry ingredients, Add wet ingredients mixing well.  Add entire mix to a greased dish ( I used my 7 x 11 glass pan given to me by Jeff’s sister Melissa). Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

Notes:
I have made this several times..Check out this recipe for probably THE BEST cornbread casserole recipe I made . Each time  I make this, the outside cooks quicker than the middle and to fix this, I mix it all halfway through baking. Presentation may not be as nice, but it seems to do the trick for me.

St. Paddy’s Day Dessert:
1 BLOG 007

It had to be GREEN! Pistachio pudding ( instant, the sugar free fat free kind made with 1% organic milk). Some pistachios etc. from a trail mix I had gotten for the ski trip week and a NOO hermit cookie.

I don’t “love” all of the artificial ingredients in instant pudding but it was fun to have for a green inspired day.   Technically, the research is still out on whether articficial sweeteners are bad or good and a little modified food starch now and again never hurt.

Body:

4 mile run before class. I felt great but I was definitely disappointed when I woke up to more RAIN! Blah! I wanted to run outside today but I guess that will have to wait. It did clear up later after my second class so that is promising.

Rest from The Shred

Mind:

Food Principles class was particularly long today! We had a demo for beef stew with our college’s executive chef, and then we had a looooong lecture on meat and poultry.

Metabolism class was all about protein! It was great to move on from lipids and fatty acid synthesis! I found out some cool things that I had wondered about with protein.

I finished my draft for The IFFS post, you can see the page I added but I haven’t put up the info for it.

Soul:

I may go meet some friends after Jeff’s hockey game to have a celebration drink for St. Paddy’s Day…. but I might just watch Dancing with the Stars and go to bed- I can be such a homebody sometimes!

Did anyone do anything fun for St. Patricks Day?

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 03 2009
Erica

Hey girlie! Love the St. Patty’s day inspired soup. Your chili looks really awesome too! I don’t think I ever make chili exactly the same way twice 😉 mmm pistachio pudding – I’m so in!

18 03 2009
VeggieGirl

GORGEOUS dessert!!

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY, GIRL!!

18 03 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, super duper eats!

18 03 2009
Moran

HAHA wow the green go me there for a sec…!
I cannot believe the gym only costs $10 ATM! Wow I am so jealous. I think here gyms are not so popular (people would rather just not exercise) so they cost more. I pay the $40 without any class options…booo….

18 03 2009
Lesley

Chili sounds delicious! Ha, and I LOVE your green dessert, so bright and pretty : )

Leave a Reply

