*Updated* Rain rain go away…

15 03 2009

News Update:
Tonight, Sunday March 15th.

Alice Waters on CBS’s 60 Minutes- this Sunday night!

Buy Fresh Logo

Lesley Stahl and her crew came to Slow Food Nation  ( Check out My posts regarding my thoughts on Slow Food Nation Here and my paper on the book Slow Food Nation: Here)  and to talk to Alice about her long history of cooking and sharing the virtues of fresh, local, sustainable food. The segment airs Sunday, March 15, at 7 p.m. ET/PT.

Click the picture for a sneak peak of the interview!

“She’s done more to change how we Americans eat, cook and think about food than anyone since Julia Child.”
–Lesley Stahl

Sunday Morning:
I did not want to wake up!! I was so tired and sore from all the moving and running and RAIN and COLD! Which, it is still raining and cold for the third straight day here!

Jeff and I went out to breakfast ( well, we slept for about 12 hours, so we missed our usual breakfast time) with my mom to a great little cafe run by former/ current firefighters. It is really an awesome place with FANTASTIC food. They do great egg whites and they use my favorite bread for their wheat toast option, but they also make amazing southern biscuits and sausage gravy.

I chose their eggs with bacon combo, egg whites, english muffin and hashbrowns.

1 BLOG 001

  I also ordered the large fresh fruit side for everyone to munch on.
1 BLOG 002
It was so delicious! On the way home Jeff and I showed my mom this great little historic mill. Here are some of the shots- we got soaked but it was fun!
 1 BLOG 0401 BLOG 032 1 BLOG 035 1 BLOG 0371 BLOG 029 1 BLOG 013 1 BLOG 011
Body:
Updated* I went to the gym and ran 5.11 miles in 39 minutes flat. I ran 0.25 miles at 10.0  four times so I ran an one entire mile in 6:00 minutes. I am pumped! I don’t usually post my times because I never like comparing one person with another and I would hate to do anything less than encourage other runners. I also want to be able to remember what my personal best is too, though!  I did Jillian’s 30 Day Shred later this evening…Level 2 … I love all the plank work because my abs are feeling incredibly strong now!

Mind:

I caught up on several blogs and I am preparing a post on Love of Oats as a guest blogger for this week! I am sooooo EXCITED! I love almost everything posts and I am really excited about the opportunity.

I am hoping to read some articles for class this week to get them out of the way and do a little more job searching for this summer.

Soul:
It was great to see my mom, SHOP, and walk around outside in the rain! Jeff and I keep meaning to get pictures of the mill but we never have ( its on the way to his parents house). So now we finally have some great photos!

Actions

Information

10 responses

15 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Can’t wait to read your guest post!! 😀

15 03 2009
lauren

hi hun, that breakfast looks so good! the pics are beautiful! cant wait to read the guest post!
have a nice sunday
xxxx

15 03 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, gorgeous pictures, and love the eats!

15 03 2009
Lesley

Love those pictures!! : )

I remember reading about Slow Food Nation in a class I was in a couple years ago in college and it interested me! I’ll have to check that out.

16 03 2009
pwilliams9

you should go to Big Ed’s and take pictures of the manhole cover pancakes. Now THAT is healthy (maybe not for the body, but definitely for the mind and soul)

16 03 2009
Matt

wow that picture of the waterfall is awesome

16 03 2009
Moran

Wow the waterfall is gorgeous!
I know I probably said it before, but THANK YOU for being so amazing! I am so glad I have gotten to know you!

16 03 2009
BB

GREAT run!

The rain really put me in a funk too…but at least it’s warming up now!

16 03 2009
dailygoods

lovin your pics! gorgeous 🙂 and the breakfast looks amazingggg! im excited to read your guest post, woo

16 03 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

Don’t shy away from posting your times! They are so incredible and you should be proud. Plus, it gives us “normies” something to strive for!
Thank you for the comment re: charley horses! I HAVE noticed that I haven’t been eating my bananas lately, maybe that is it!

Leave a Reply

