Updated Hermits, Oats and MUCH MORE!

12 03 2009

 

Body:

Morning Run: 3.5 miles at the gym.

After Class: Shredding, Day 4 !! We were out early from class so I did Level 2 but I didn’t use my 8 lb weights, I used one 4 lb for the exercises I could. I can’t believe how 4 days of shredding has already made a difference in my muscle tone- it really has!  This is awesome! 🙂

Mind:

Class- Just so you know to look back here, I am updating this post with my Lab photos! Today our lab is on EGGS! I posted info about Eggs on tuesday, we will be doing Souffles today and then I don’t know what else yet!

Cheese Souffle  ( adapted from Alton Brown)

Ingredients

butter, room temperature, for greasing soufflé

2 Tbsp grated parmesan cheese

3 Tbsp butter

3 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1 tsp dry mustard

½ tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp of salt

1 1/3 cups milk, hot

4 large egg yolks

6 ounces sharp cheddar

5 egg whites plus 1 Tbsp water

½ tsp cream of tartar

 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  1. Prepare the soufflé dishes: Use room temperature butter to grease 5 soufflé dishes. Add the grated Parmesan cheese and roll around the mold to cover the sides. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the freezer for 5 minutes.
  1. In a small sauce pan, heat the butter.
  1. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, dry mustard, garlic powder, and salt. Whisk this mixture into the melted butter. Cook for 2 minutes under low heat.
  1. Whisk in the hot milk and turn the heat to high. Once the mixture reaches a gentle boil, remove from heat.
  1. In a separate bowl, beat the egg yolks to a creamy consistency.
  1. Slowly temper a small amount of the hot milk mixture into the yolks, constantly whisking. Repeat the procedure 2~3 times. Add all the tempered yolks-milk mixture back to the hot milk mixture and whisk until incorporated.
  1. Add the cheese. Whisk until incorporated.
  1. In a separate bowl, using a hand mixer, whip the egg whites and cream of tartar until glossy and stiff. Add ¼ of this mixture to the base.
  2. 1 BLOG 010 Continue to add the white by thirds, folding very gently.
  1. Pour the mixture into the soufflé molds filling to ½ inch from the top.
  1. Place on an aluminum pan and bake in the oven for 35 minutes or until set.

1 BLOG 017

 

1 BLOG 018

1 BLOG 022
We also made an omlet
2 eggs
1 Tb butter
salt , pepper, herbs

Melted butter in the skillet

1 BLOG 011
Whisk Eggs with salt

1 BLOG 012
Add eggs to pan

1 BLOG 013
Stir coagulating eggs, rolling the eggs in the pan to increase the height on the edges of the omlet.
1 BLOG 014

Sprinkle with herbs when 80% finished cooking

1 BLOG 015
Flip. Serve

I couldn’t take as many photos of the souffle because I was actually doing too many things like whisking or stirring etc. The souffle was really really tasty! I’ve never had one or made one before so it was really fun as well!

This evening I had the Induction Ceremony for the National Honors Society, Kappa Omicron Nu. I had the courage to ask which/how the faculty decided to put me in and my advisor said it was a “unanimous decision” by the faculty to nominate me as a member! How cool is that! I talked with all of my professors that were there and introduced them to my mom and brother and Jeff- I thanked all of them and they just had the nicest things to say! Wow, I feel like such a nerd but in a good way! My mom took a bunch of photos so when I get them I will show you guys! Jeff’s parents took me out to dinner afterwards to celebrate…

Soul:

We just started planning with my sister and girlfriends a girl’s weekend in a month or so from now!!! I can’t wait!

My mom is here!

Dinner with Jeff, his parents, my mom and maybe my brother Matt. I miss you Gabe and Christal! 🙂

Okay so back to the food… you guys know I had posted these early today…

Update for last night:
1 BLOG 012

I had this guy times 3 …

Newman’s Own Organics Mocha Milk Chocolate
Info from NOO:
“Inspired by our love of chocolate, we searched for a source of organic cocoa beans to make a rich, flavorful chocolate – and we found it! Our new Signature Series line of Chocolate Bars is formulated with some of the finest Certified Organic chocolate we’ve ever tasted, made from cocoa beans grown on Rainforest Alliance Certified™ farms.”

Ingredients:

Mocha Milk Chocolate:
Organic Milk Chocolate (organic evaporated cane juice, organic cocoa butter*, organic whole milk powder, organic chocolate liquor*, organic soy lecithin [an emulsifier], organic vanilla), Natural Coffee Flavor

Nutrition:

Mocha Milk Chocolate: Serving Size is 1 entire bar:
Calories 340, Calories from Fat 190, Total Fat 21g (Saturated Fat 12g), Cholesterol 5mg, Sodium 35mg, Total Carb. 38g (Fiber 1g, Sugars 33g), Protein 3g

I am a HUGE chocolate person and this did not dissapoint in taste, texture, flavor, mouthfeel and apperance! All of those were perfect, high quality chocolate that melted in my mouth with such a smooth consistency and milky texture. The only negative thing I could say about this is that it had a really weird smell… I am pretty sure it was the “mocha” part. There was a clear taste of coffee but not incredibly strong. I really really really enjoyed this guy but the smell did throw me off just a little!

Okay, now onto today

Breakfast:
Oatmeal with a Newman’s Own Hermit Cookie in all kinds of pieces some almonds, and I had the whole banana (just fyi) but had some slices with some peanut butter in the oats.

1 BLOG 003

You can check out my review of the Newman’s Own Hermit Cookie by clicking here ( all the nutrition info and comments from Nell are on this link as well)

The hermit cookie had gotten warmed up by the hot oatmeal, and it made the molasses and raisin sugars get all excited and tasty! It was really great warmed up and gave it that classic “oatmeal raisin” taste!

Lunch:

Salmon ( from the other day) mixed into a salad with some fresh red bell pepper and a little hunk of brie! It was fabulous.

1 BLOG 006

Snack/ For Lab Sensory Evaluation:
1 BLOG 016
I tasted about half that guy, not a fan. The souffle below I had all of… It was on that same plate so the portion was not as huge as it looks.
1 BLOG 023

Dinner:

We went out to Porter’s Restaurant, this place is delicious if you ever decide to go.

I had a glass of “gougenheim” cabernet sav.
1 BLOG 024
I had a slice of salty foccacia with hummus
1 BLOG 026
We had ordered appetizers of tempura green beans with a chiptole mayo and parmesean fries with truffle aioli..
1 BLOG 027 
I had a few of each…

1 BLOG 029
For my entree I ordered the ribeye with a green salad instead of onion rings. I had a hard time with the steak though, it was so hard to cut through and it was so dark I couldn’t see where to cut etc. On top was roasted garlic gorgonzola butter- which knocked my socks off! Okay I wasn’t wearing socks I was wearing peep toe heels- BUT it was fabulous!

 1 BLOG 030

Anyhow, I gave up on the steak after having only a couple bites and stole bites of Jeff’s Blue Cheese Mac and Cheese ( bottom).
1 BLOG 031
The middle dish is the same ribeye with the o-rings, and then my mom ordered the half size Chicken Ravioli ( which I was considering and will get next time)
and then I ordered Chocolate Souffle Cake for dessert.
1 BLOG 032

But saved half of it and had bites of Jeff’s Lemon Meringue Pie

 
1 BLOG 033

I am so tired!! That seemed like such an incredibly long post… Oh well, I hope you enjoyed my day! I loved sharing it but now its seriously time for sleep.

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 03 2009
VeggieGirl

THOSE OATS!! Fabulous.

Enjoy the ceremony tonight!! I’d ask to find out about the faculty member 😀

12 03 2009
lauren

wow amazing looking oats 🙂
have a great day with your mum girlie
xxxx

12 03 2009
erin

yuuuuuuum oats. YUM

but whats better was your salad yesterday with a PURPLE sweet potater???
oh me oh my!

JACK ❤
i love him
hahah

have a beautiful thursday

12 03 2009
Hangry Pants

I kind of love the hermit cookies. They’re kind of odd, but interestigly spicy!

13 03 2009
Erica

Hey girl 🙂 I love those hermits! Such great cookies. I def rec Charleston and Hilton Head. Its just beautiful down here! Let me know if you end up coming this way 😉

13 03 2009
Matt

What do you mean shredding later today? shredding?

13 03 2009
Sharon

Oh my gosh, super tasty eats!

13 03 2009
Sweet and Fit

hope you had fun with your mom! thanks so much for the chocolate review – this past week I have been craving so much chocolate! lemme know if you want to do an exchange – I could send you some wraps if you wanted to try them =) hope you have a great FRIDAY!

14 03 2009
pwilliams9

congrats on the honors thing…and i wish i was there to eat all of that food…hopefully i’ll be home soon

20 03 2009
Sarah Elise Mills

I love all the food pictures!!! No wonder we are such foodies!!!

Leave a Reply

