Monday: 1st Day of the Shred, 2 loops around the lake, 3 great meals!

10 03 2009

Body:

Run outside , the lake loop times two+… 6 miles, the second trip of hills was actually easier than the first!

After my run I headed home and found…..

1 BLOG 017
The 30 Day Shred DVD I had ordered! Hooray! So I had to try the first level! I was surprised, it definitely gave me a little sweat but I might have to just start out with level 2. I used my 8 lb dumbells for all the exercises except one ( the squat and raise near the beginning, I used one for both arms so 4 lb)

I am super excited to be a part of the 30 day challenge though, there are so many of us! I can’t wait to see everyone’s progress!

Mind:

studied studied studied! I answered every single question on the study guide so now I just have to keep going over everything

Practice for Kappa Omicron Nu, our initiation ceremony is thursday evening and my mom is coming ( I don’t know yet if Jeff’s family is coming or if my brother is coming) but it should be a fun time, except I cannot yet answer the question: What should I wear? ( no jeans) I have to check the weather too

Soul:

The run was fantastic and I am really pumped about a 30 day fitness challenge involving the word “Shred” AND that it is motivating so many others to do the same!

I absolutely LOVE when not only is the weather GORGEOUS, but when it stays light out later at night! Instantaneously, I feel the urge to play outside until it gets really dark. I am almost 27 so a little old for playing, but definitely, it makes me remember those never ending summer days when I was a kiddo.

I finally got back with the volunteer position I had mentioned finding before Christmas. If all goes well, I will be starting this month and working with event planning among other nutrition opportunities!

Onto my food:

Breakfast:
1 BLOG 006
I found this low sugar jelly – it doesn’t use artifical sweetners which I thought was great! I mixed a tablespoon into fat free ricotta- It was delicious! I also had… a breakfast cookie! Well, I had made oatmeal and flattened it out, stuck it in the fridge over night and it didn’t really come out like a cookie- It was still rather oatmeal like. It was awesome, I added banana, peanut butter, cherries, pineapple and some nuts and cranberries.

1 BLOG 013

Lunch:
An open faced tuna sammy on whole wheat, one side has mustard and the other had a little smart balance mayonnaise with a pickle. Brussel Sprouts and mixed veggies, and the extra tuna with a little leftover tomato sauce
1 BLOG 013
I had two of these treats as well:
1 BLOG 014
Newman’s Own Organics Champion Cookies in Chocolate Mint Chip Cookies.
1 BLOG 015

Here is the info:
Double Chocolate Mint Chip:
Organic Unbleached Flour, Organic Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Chocolate Chips (Organic Sugar, Organic Chocolate Liquor, Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Corn Syrup Solids, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Organic Vanilla Beans), Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Dextrose, Soy Lecithin (an emulsifier), Vanilla), Liquid Egg Whites, Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa, Peppermint Oil, Baking Soda, Salt.

Double Chocolate Mint Chip: Serving Size  about 4 cookies:
Calories 160, Fat Calories 70, Total Fat 8g, Saturated Fat 3.5g, Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 70mg, Total Carbohydrates 21g, Dietary Fiber 1g, Sugars 11g, Protein 2g

These are about 40 calories each, all organic and delicious! I could taste the tiny bit of saltiness of the cookie but in a great way, it enhanced the sweetness! My favorite part were the mint chocolate chips! They weren’t too crispy either, but certainly not a soft style cookie. Yum!

Post Study/Pre Run snack:
A handful ( I had about 10) of Newman’s Own Organic Honey Wheat Pretzels:
1 BLOG 016
These guys are delicious!! Perfect combination of slight honey sweetness with a little salty, crispy pretzel twist. I am going to call it now even though its early- but I think these two NOO products will be buy-again favorites.  Here is the pretzel info:

Ingredients:
Organic unbleached wheat flour, organic whole wheat flour, organic honey, organic sugar, organic sunflower oil, salt, yeast, soda.

Nutrition Facts:
Serving Size:  20 pretzels (30g),
Calories in each serving: 110
Total Fat: 1g (saturated fat: 0gm)
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 180mg
Total Carbohydrates: 22g
Dietary fiber: 3g
Sugar: 2g
Protein: 2g

Dinner was super easy and quick:
Frozen mixed veggies ( I got them on sale at Lowes for $0.89 a bag!), a microwaved sweet potato (this guy was local too!) and Boneless ,Skinless Chicken also on sale from Lowes for about $3 for three huge (2 serving in each) breasts.

1 BLOG 018
I had just marinated the chicken in hot sauce, nothing else, for about 1 hour ( while I did Jillian’s DVD and showered). Put it in the pan on medium-low, covered and cooked through. Microwaved the veggies, which included spinach, onion, broccoli, red pepper, carrots, brussel sprouts, snow peas with a little salt and black pepper.

Off to study and watch some tv! I have a feeling I may be sore tomorrow!

Actions

Information

10 responses

10 03 2009
Dori

Yay for the shred! Your are hardcore with the weights, wow. Your sweet potato looks so yummy and so do those cookies!

10 03 2009
dailygoods

8 lbs! YOU ARE A ROCKSTAR!!!!
im so wiped out and didnt feel like shredding but after reading your post… im doing it. you are inspiration my dear friend

10 03 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, look at you go! Awesome!
And oh my gosh, I wish Newman products were in Canada!!

10 03 2009
Hangry Pants

Seriously lady. What are you some kind of super strong super hero? As you know you (or maybe you don’t read my blog in detail), I started off the shred w/ soup cans so I am beyond impressed and jealous right now!

10 03 2009
lauren

great eats hun!
glad your excited about the 30 day challenge 🙂 8lbs? wow, thats impressive!
have a nice night
xxxx

10 03 2009
Lesley

Hooray for getting your 30 day shred book! : )

Hope the beginning of your week is starting out well!!

10 03 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

I haven’t done the shred DVDs but from what I know of them, level 2 and -lbs ais kicking ass! Way to go!
Congrats on your initiation! Maybe a nice skirt/top or casual dress?

10 03 2009
caitlin

im glad you are enjoying the challenge!!!

10 03 2009
BB

OH good call on the jelly/ricotta combo!

11 03 2009
Sweet and Fit

8 lb dumbells, dammmmmn! you are amazing! I’m so glad you are going back to that volunteer position! please keep us posted on that =)

Leave a Reply

