Exam was EGGCELENT!

10 03 2009

I couldn’t wait to post about our lecture today, yes before our exam we had our lecture on ….

EGGS

…but before I go into all this interesting stuff I learned about eggs and food principles ..

Body:

Day 2 of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred.

I did it after studying most of the morning (and grocery shopping!)  and I used my 8 lb weights again.  Today, for a few of the exercises I could, I used only 1 dumbell so 4 lbs ( like the lunges with shoulder raises and that other first one). I find it overall a great workout but not insanely challenging. That means my challenge is to stick with it everyday, along with my running schedule!

I jumped to level 3 to see if in fact it would get more difficult- I did the first circuit! It is more difficult but more of the types of moves I am used to- i.e I HATE jumping jacks but I can sprint on the treadmill at speed 10 for more than 2 minutes- so I am adjusting to these different “forms” of cardio which are supposed to be easier but are actually harder for Moi!

I am super pumped to keep going, every day, it makes me want to do it twice a day. I LOVE that there are other food bloggers out there doing it right along with me too, so Thanks Caitlin!
I am so happy I bought this too, it will be fantastic for days I can’t get to a gym or just feel like doing a home workout in the future.

Mind:

Exam went really well- it was easier than our first because I had an idea of how the questions would be worded. I didn’t like having to sit through lecture before it BUT it was an interesting lecture, starting out with Alton Brown’s Good Eats on Souffles! which we will be making in thursday lab…

Here is some Super Cool info from my class today:

Eggs are a symbol of fertility and life.

Eggs:

  • are versatile and invaluable… meaning
  • provide structure (fluffiness in cakes, color to custards, leaven souffles, coat for frying, clarify soups, thicken puddings, emulsify, bind and glaze in pastries)
  • have porous shell membranes, providing protection from bacteria
  • have an air space for the embryo
  • have a nutrient dense yolk, mostly fats and vitamins
  • have an Albumen, which is layers of proteins ( albumins), the white. The fresher the egg, the thicker this Albumen will be.

Egg quality is graded, USDA AA is the best quality, then USDA A, then USDA B.

  • USDA AA have thick albumen, the yolks stand up tall
  • USDA A have a slightly thinner white, stand up less
  • Both of these A and AA are good for frying and poaching
  • USDA B have a very thin layer of white, the yolk does not stand up at all. These are actually only given to food service places, and are not even sold to consumers. These grades are better for baking and adding to other processed foods.

Eggs provide Vitamin A, D, E, K , B2 B 12, Folate, Biotin, and Patothenic Acid. They also provide the antioxidant Selenium, Iodine, Zinc and Copper.

When you overcook eggs ( often hard boiled), Do you ever see a layer/ring around the yolk that is GREEN?  This green layer is caused by the interaction of the egg’s iron with sulfur- it isn’t exactly harmful but it isn’t “good” so the best ways of preparing eggs in general are to:

  • cook at lower temperatures
  • and keep the cooking time short.

An egg ages more in 1 day at room temperature than in 1 week in the refrigerator. The shell of an egg is porous ( above),  this is so the embryo can “breathe”. However, this also means that when you put the eggs in your fridge out of their carton- the odors and air and whatever else can seep into the eggs, making them go bad much quicker and much more susceptible to bacteria contaminations i.e Salmonella.  So, keep your eggies in their container, covered- not in those open bin things.
Soul:
tbd but its tuesday , sunny, breezy, 67* – I spent the morning studying at a starbucks, got to Trader Joes for a quick trip, aced my exam and am looking forward to when Jeff gets home so we can have dinner together and chat before I get another dose of Jillian on the biggest loser.

I am on campus, so no photos until dinner time.

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 03 2009
lauren

love all the randomness on the eggs 🙂
have a great afternoon hun!!
xxx

11 03 2009
Sweet and Fit

congrats on going well on you exam! thanks for the info on eggs – funny thing really because I was just thinking today about how I love eggs and how I don’t use them as much as I really should – i mean use the entire egg and not the whites…. I still haven’t tried your idea of the boiled eggs then filling the whites with different fillings.

11 03 2009
HangryPants

Good job on your exam! I bet you did yolktastic. Oh god I can’t believe I just wrote that.

11 03 2009
peanutbutterandjuli

Congrats on the exam, smarty pants!

13 03 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

Your blog looks GREAT!
Thanks for the info on eggs! I think they are a seriously underrated food 😉

Leave a Reply

