Friday Recap

7 03 2009

Happy Weekend to all! I hope everyone’s weather is as gorgeous as mine. I can’t wait to get out for a run.

Here is my friday recap

Body:

Did the Power Yoga , 70 minute download via yogadownload.com

Went for about a 5 mile hike/jog with Jeff!

Mind:

Studied for the exam – there is alot of material, so I am taking it in slow!

Soul:

We caught up with our friends, one couple is pregnant so it was great to see her belly finally start to show ( she is a personal trainer and is in super shape , it still is hard to tell she is having a baby!). She obviously did not drink, but I had a glass of merlot while out. My camera battery died because I had taken so many pictures before we went out….. and why so many you may wonder… ?

Well, I got an INCREDIBLE package in the mail!!!

1 BLOG 016
Sally from Newman’s Own Organics sent me the most incredible package of goods!
They even left me a personal note, which was so genuine! I can’t wait to share it with my classmates and with our friends and family to get their feedback on all these fantastic products and “spread the Organic wealth”!

Cookies
1 BLOG 018
Chocolate
1 BLOG 019 

Mints
 1 BLOG 021
Dried Fruits
1 BLOG 017
… and more ( Soy crisps, pretzels, olive oil, vinegar). I will review as I munch away for awhile and I am excited to hear what others I share them with will think!

For starters, after our hike we snacked on the “Barbeque Soy Crisps”. Well, I should say Jeff snacked because I sampled a few before dinner.

 1 BLOG 031

I really enjoy soy crisps and have tried other varieties, but I have never been a huge fan of “barbeque” flavor in chips etc. These bad boys were tasty, salty, crispy and light. I actual enjoyed them quite a bit, especially the 7 g of protein AND 3g of fiber, which is very filling compared to other common snacks such as chips or pretzels!  I am looking forward to the white cheddar flavor even more!

Ingredients:

Barbeque Soy Crips:
Organic Low Fat Soy Flour, Organic Rice Flour, Salt, Seasoning (dehydrated cane juice, sea salt, onion powder, garlic powder, tomato powder, extractives of paprika, natural flavor, spices, citric acid with not more than 2% sunflower oil and silicon dioxide added), Sunflower Oil.

Barbeque: Serving Size: 1 oz, Calories per Serving: 110, Calories from fat: 30, Total Fat: 3.5g (saturated fat: 0gm, trans fat: 0g), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 390mg, Total Carbohydrates: 14g (dietary fiber: 3g, sugars: 3g), Protein: 7g

We also each had a Hermit Cookie, Orginial Flavor for dessert post dinner. 1 BLOG 029

These are NOO soft cookies that are very much like an “oatmeal raisin cookie meets larabar”. It tasted fantastic, soft, chewy, and fruity. I could taste the molassess for sure and the raisins were perfect! I am not a fan of the 80 calorie count, however, it is all healthy ingredients so it isn’t lacking in nutrients. Plus, the cookie was very filling so it did not dissapoint. I think heating it for just a few seconds would also be spectacular!
 
Here is what Nell Newman says about these:
“Hermits were a family favorite when I was growing up,” say Nell Newman, co-founder and president of the company. “Our recipe, which is based on one we used to make at home, is filled with our delicious organic raisins and sweetened with organic molasses. These spicy, chewy cookies are said to have originated in Colonial New England. One theory is that hermits were named for their long keeping qualities—better when hidden away like a hermit for several days. I doubt if these will last long enough to hide.”

Ingredients:

Original:
Organic Unbleached Wheat Flour, Organic Raisins, Organic Molasses, Organic Sugar, Organic Palm Fruit Oil, Oats, Organic Figs, Raisin Paste, Spices, Leavening (Baking Soda, Monocalcium Phosphate), Salt, Rice Bran Extract.
Nutritional Facts:

Original: Serving Size: 1 cookie  (22g), Calories per Serving: 80, Calories from fat: 15, Total Fat: 1.5g (saturated fat: 1gm), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 65mg, Total Carbohydrates: 16g (dietary fiber less than 1g, sugars: 10g), Protein: 1g

I can’t wait to try more products! I feel that your diet should include tons of fresh fruits and vegetables, which I try to get organic and local when possible. However, I do think variety is important and especially with a busy life- snacking is often required! Snacking healthy is made much easier by companies such as Newman’s Own Organics! Thank you Sally!

Actions

Information

14 responses

7 03 2009
VeggieGirl

INCREDIBLE package!!

7 03 2009
Moran

Oh what a great package!
And thank you SO much for all your support and help – you are one amazing person; I am so glad I have gotten to know you
🙂

7 03 2009
Anna

I’m so envious of your package. I love Newman’s Own’s products!

7 03 2009
Sharon

WHOA, WHOA WHOA!!!! AWESOME PACKAGE!!!

7 03 2009
AnAppleADay

heyy I received that exact same package!! aren’t they awesome? did you also get balsamic vinegar and olive oil?
i haven’t tried any of their products though. did you like them?

8 03 2009
peanutbutterandjuli

Jackpot on the package!

8 03 2009
lauren

wow fantastic package they sent you 🙂 free stuff is great!!
that hike/jog sounded like fun! ive always wanted to go hiking but ive only been a few times when i was younger as ireland isnt really the palce to find any hiking trails ( where im living anyway).
have a great night hun 🙂
xxxx

8 03 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

What an AWESOME package! I cant’ wait to hear the reviews. I love Newman’s Own products and wish they sold more of them in the UK. I love they are such an ethical company who makes yummy treats!

8 03 2009
Sophia

omg, what a freaking amzing stash! you’re gonna be quite busy munching through all these delicious snacks!

8 03 2009
Dori

I am so jealous of your Newmann’s package! I’d devour it all at once though. I started my 30 day shred today — so quick yet challenging!

8 03 2009
Lesley

Yum! Can I have some? ; )

9 03 2009
dailygoods

that package is ridiculously good!!!!!! im so jealous, they really hooked you uppp 🙂 i’ve never tried their products before so i cant wait for all the reviews

11 03 2009
HangryPants

Oh my god. We’re friends. Send me some. 😀 Just kidding of course. I am just green with envy.

12 03 2009
Hermits and Oats and …Chocolate « Body Mind Soul

[…] can check out my review of the Newman’s Own Hermit Cookie by clicking here ( all the nutrition info and comments from Nell are on this link as […]

Leave a Reply

