Tea and Cakes

2 03 2009

We did get a good 5 inches, lots of school closings and delays. Jeff however did not get a delay at work, bummer. So the last time I had pancakes was late January, I figured I would give them a go again , on a snow day again… with blueberry smiles again… 🙂
1 BLOG 007
Ingredients were the same as the previous pancake post, except I halved it because Jeff had to head to work.

Dry

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt

Wet

  • 1/3 cup Nonfat Greek Plain Yogurt ( I used Voscos brand) 
  • 1/2 tablespoon oil ( smart balance)
  • 1 large egg white
  • Milk as needed- I used a splash

I mixed all the dry together and then mixed in all the wet ingredients- dropped it into a hot skillet and..

On the side I had half a banana and used applesauce (organic) with some cottage cheese and cinnamon for a “sauce”. It was delicious and a great way to get some sweet. Plus, it’s healthier than maple syrup since you get fruit and fiber with the applesauce. 

Hot green tea with snowman and my snowy backyard!
1 BLOG 008

Dinner last night was a frozen pizza we had for quite some time now. Neither of us felt up for cooking much of anything- so we added the last of some pepperoni that we had to this guy

1 BLOG 002

I sliced it up

1 BLOG 003

and had some veggies, cottage cheese and hummus alongside of it.

1 BLOG 001

I know I know, I added more pepperoni and that is totally not what most people consider “healthy”. I don’t think of pepperoni as a healthy food either, but I enjoy it! I like lots of pepperoni on my pizza and if I am going to have some pizza- I will have it the way I want to! The nice thing about this is easier “portion control” – I knew that my two slices were 1/4 of the pizza and that serving size is listed on the back info: 360 calories.

If you know what you need, getting what you want is a whole lot easier!  For example yesterday, I knew overall that I needed some more protein and fat and veggies. So many things fit those categories, but what do I want that will fill those needs? pepperoni pizza with some veggies fit perfectly.

Okay, today’s plan:

Body:

Hip Opening Yoga !! this will be great to get my hips going for my run!

and a run at the gym… not sure if I will wait to go with Jeff at the end of the day or head out in this snow before lunch. 

Mind:
tbd

Soul:
tbd

Actions

Information

7 responses

2 03 2009
Moran

Does the cottage taste good with hummus? Seriously, I discovered so many ways of incorporating hummus into my meals from blog reading! I am actually quite a shame to my country .

2 03 2009
Sharon

Love the blueberry smiles! So cute!

2 03 2009
VeggieGirl

Haha the blueberry smiles are so fun!! 🙂

No worries!! Just enjoy the pepperoni.

Hell yes for yoga!!

2 03 2009
Hangry Pants

Cute pancakes! I had some Sunday. Seems like we’re on the same pancake schedule!!!

2 03 2009
Lesley Borger

Love those pancakes (especially the smiley face : ) and that pizza sure looks tasty!!

Hope you’re enjoying your snoy weather, and have a great Monday!! ; )

2 03 2009
lauren

haha the pancakes smile at you 🙂 so cute!

hope your having a nice monday girlie
xxxx

3 03 2009
Clean Veggie

those pancakes are so cute 🙂 plus they look delicious!!

Leave a Reply

