Photo Full Thursday!

27 02 2009

1 BLOG 039 
Dinner:
Leftover chicken carbonara with extra spinach and fresh salsa.

1 BLOG 037

Snack/Lab
On the left, fettucini alfredo and on the right was another group’s tomato polenta with our Spinach Pesto Farro.

Lunch:
Herb Organic Greens with a dollop of hummus and leftover noodles from carbonara with hard boiled egg whites and salsa.
1 BLOG 030
1 BLOG 031
Breakfast:

Fruit on top of chobani plain with oats ( water, pumpkin, oats microwaved) a little banana and peanut butter and cinnamon
1 BLOG 027  1 BLOG 029

Was anyone surprised I did my food first and started from dinner going back to breakfast? I like to switch up things often so hopefully it doesn’t bother readers?!

Body:
Went for a 3.2 mile run… I didn’t think about time or speed, I just wanted to get in a run!

Mind:
Lab! Our principles were “Sauces” and “Starches” this week. We made spinach pesto farro and fettucini alfredo from a basic white sauce.
1 BLOG 036 
Farro is basically Spelt or Wheatberries, it is a very chewey tough grain but it kinda bursts the way steel cut oats do. We soaked these bad boys overnight in water and then boiled them with a dash of salt for 20 minutes. Drained… and tossed in the sauce. Pseudograins such as these (buckwheat, kasha…) are much higher in protein than most grains. If you have tried wheatberries, spelt and farro are almost identical. Farro is actually an “ancient” being one of the first grains discovered. Spelt and farro (emmer) prepared are typically referred to as wheatberries, however they are all species of the same grain. Farro is considered to be the “best in flavor”. They all taste identical to me!
You can get spelt and wheatberries in bulk, dried at Whole Foods probably elsewhere for sure.
1 BLOG 034 

We tossed ours in a pesto sauce that we made using a food processor. We took fresh organic spinach, organic pine nuts, organic lemon juice and zest, salt and pepper and blended it with olive oil until creamy. We mixed in grated parmesean cheese.

1 BLOG 032
Tossed the dressing with the farro- topped with parm.

 1 BLOG 035

For the Alfredo, we used a basic white sauce ( on the right for our sensory evaluation) and added nutmeg, lemon zest and juice, parm cheese, salt and pepper.

 1 BLOG 033
We tossed that in fettucinni noodles.

White Sauce (bechamel):

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

¼ cup all-purpose flour, sifted

2 cups warm whole milk

½ teaspoon salt

Melted the butter, whisked in the flour, slowly added milk , seasoned with salt.

Easy as cake, but not flavorful at ALL!

So, for the Alfredo:

¾ cups white sauce (béchamel)

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice (~from about ½ lemon)

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Salt

Spinach Pesto (makes 1 cup)

2 cups (tightly packed) baby spinach leaves (about 2 oz)

¼ cup toasted pine nuts

1 to 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (from about 1 lemon)

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (from about ½ lemon)

1/3 cup olive oil

1/3 cups and 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

½ teaspoon salt, plus more to taste

½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus to taste

Toast pine nuts, mix first four ingredients in food processor. Add in oil, mix in the remainder ingredients.

Phew, we have our second exam for that class the tuesday we get back from…

SPRING BREAK! Yes folks, I am officially on spring break as of 3:20 pm today. I have no idea what I will be doing other than studying but we’ll see!

Soul:
 
My first to do item on Spring Break was to take Jack for a walk, and take a nap for myself. Jeff and I fell asleep mid afternoon on the sofa and it was exactly what I needed. I have no idea why I was so tired but it felt great!

Thursday night TV! Since I have the next 10 days to do with as I please- I will be catching up on blogs later or tomorrow morning during breakfast!

Actions

Information

10 responses

27 02 2009
VeggieGirl

I’M ON SPRING BREAK STARTING TOMORROW AFTERNOON!!! 😀

27 02 2009
Lindsay

yay for spring break 🙂

i wish there was a spring break at work haha…

ps – about the hot n healthy bars – they are REALLY GOOD, i think, but have sugar alcohols in them and some other yucky stuff, BUT they are my guilty pleasure so im still enjoying them once in a while haha

27 02 2009
Erica

Spring break??? how exciting! Everything looks soooo good! Love pasta. I need to make up some hard boiled eggs- great for protein and I need it! Hope you have a good one!

27 02 2009
Lesley

Spring break is a good thing!! Enjoy!!!

I loved your photo filled thursday post … everything looks delicious!!

27 02 2009
Dori

Oh how I miss your blog all day at work now! This is hard, nights are difficult! Anyway, wanted to tell you I met with my nutritionist and it is going well – she put me on an enzyme called Viokase and I am trying out certain vegetables.

27 02 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, love the eats! Everything looks amazing!

27 02 2009
lauren

great eats hun 🙂 yay for spring break!
have a nice night!
xxxx

27 02 2009
Lara

Such interesting info about the grains! I love that kind of stuff. What a fun class!

27 02 2009
Hangry Pants

Farro sounds cool! I love how you got to cook in class. 😀

27 02 2009
Sweet and Fit

yay for spring break! all of your meals always look so delicious! you really should try the quinoa – its so filling and has a really great flavor… lazy me even made it in the microwave =)

Leave a Reply

