Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Healthy Fried Okra

14 02 2009

1 BLOG 015

and kashi pilaf..

This was just so easy and I never follow recipes nor could I tell you the inspiration for this only that hormone free chicken breasts were bogo at $2.99 a pound so for three huge breasts it cost about $3- you can’t beat that! I used to make this before I started blogging but haven’t made it on here yet I believe.

I put a spoonfull of pesto on the bottom of my 7 x 11 and swished it around to coat the bottom ( so that the chicken would get coated as well). I took the chicken breasts and trimmed them a little, placed each breast in saran wrap and whacked it to flatten it out. After each one, I placed it in the pan so there are 6 in there on top of a little pesto.

1 BLOG 009

For the stuffing, I heated up 2 cups of frozen spinach- drained out excess water. I mixed in 1/4 cup nonfat cottage cheese, 1/4 cup reduced fat colby jack shredded, 2 tablespoons tomato basil feta and salt and pepper . I mixed all of that really well then divided it into six even portions inside the bowl. Scooped out and laid it in each breast then folded the breast. Voila- Baked at 350 for about 37 minutes.
 1 BLOG 010

Healthy Fried Okra

I know I know, how can something fried be healthy? Well, here is what I did: I took frozen okra and thawed it out in the microwave. I put a tablespoon of Smart Balance Oil into my straight edged skillet and put together my batter.

For the breading I used equal parts whole wheat pastry flour and cornmeal with a little salt and pepper. For the binder I poured a splash of egg white and milk over the thawed okra. I liked this way because I could estimate just how much I needed for three good servings of fried okra. I hate having to measure, and I hate having to use a recipe that leaves me with 2 cups of wasted batter!
1 BLOG 011
So I tossed the okra to coat it well in the egg white- then dropped it in my tupperware of breading mix. I closed it up- and shoook it- then spooned it into the hot pan. I did it in two quick sections and let them cook on their side for about 1-2 minutes before tossing around.
1 BLOG 012

You got whole grain breading, egg white batter, healthy oil, and a lovely veggie.

The kashi whole grain pilaf was an instant pack- which is not super high in sodium but is higher in sodium than if you make it on your own- but it is very easy and saves time!

Let’s CELEBRATION !

1 BLOG 017 1 BLOG 021

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 02 2009
Erica

What a great, easy, healthy meal! Girl you rock! Have a great weekend ❤

14 02 2009
Missy (Missy Maintains)

Delicious dinner! Love healthified fried foods! Yay for celebrations!!!

15 02 2009
bhealthier

Erica-Thanks, You too!
Sharon and Missy: Yes, it was deliciously healthified!
Lara: I know! I couldn’t believe it and they were identical to a pair I had tried for $100… phew I messaged you back about the kale on your site
S&F: haha, crafty- i like it thanks!
Biz: it totally reminds me of fried zuchinni- I love both veggies and I enjoy them fried too 🙂
Elle: I have never tried rice oil- but I will look into it for sure! Thanks so much for your comment and idea!

14 02 2009
Sharon

Oh my gosh, delicious!!!

14 02 2009
Sweet and Fit

I was wondering what in the world you were doing makin *fried* okra, hehe – you are so crafty though!

14 02 2009
biz319

I had fried okra on vacation – I kinda liked it – reminded me of zucchini!

15 02 2009
Elle

Try rice oil for a healthy alternative. I really do like fried okra-I guess it comes from being from the south.

Leave a Reply

