Pumpkin Banana Bread

12 02 2009

1 BLOG 009

Thursday night is girl’s night and I was charged with the task of bringing something sweet! It was an easy decision to make banana bread, but I saw the pumpkin in my fridge so I changed to a banana pumpkin bread with dark chocolate hearts.

My original banana bread recipe was Veganomicon’s but I change ingredients because I like them better…
For 1 loaf
2.5 very ripe bananas ( I can never wait until they are ripe enough)
1/4 cup pumpkin puree ( I have used yogurt and applesauce and egg beaters in the past- all worked fine)
1/8 cup Smart Balance Oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp pumpkin butter
2 cups flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour)
ΒΌ tsp baking soda
ΒΌ tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt

1. Preheat the oven to 325. In loaf pan, pour 1/8 cup Oil and coat the pan by swirling. After coating, pour this oil into mixing bowl. Peel bananas and smash bananas until smooth ( in the bowl with oil) with a fork. Add the sugar, pumpkin puree (or yogurt etc. ), and pumpkin butter and stir well.
2. In separate bowl, add and sift remaining ingredients ( all the dry: flour through salt).  Add dry mixture to banana mixture. Stir until just combined (don’t overmix this).
3. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes or until golden brown

On top of mine for the ladies ( and for valentines day) I laid dark chocolate hearts on top!

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 02 2009
lauren

wow that looks soo yummy πŸ™‚
scary experience earlier, even if it did jus turn out to be an old lady from across the road…when you didnt know who it was but heard someone breaking in it must hav ebeen awful…id be sooo terrified.
glad all is sorted anyway and everyones ok πŸ™‚

12 02 2009
Erica

What a beautiful treat! Enjoy girls night!

12 02 2009
Missy (MISSY MAINTAINS)

Looks delicious! I love the chocolate hearts! So festive!

12 02 2009
Dori

I LOVE banana bread. 2 years ago my brother’s girlfriend baked a loaf and mailed it to me for my birthday. I picked the box up from the post office and tore it open and started eating it right from the box on my way home. I couldn’t wait!

12 02 2009
VeggieGirl

HOLY FREAKING YUM!!!!!!!!!!

12 02 2009
Sweet and Fit

aww, this looks so cute! you are really sweet for making this for (I assume) your girlfriends =)

13 02 2009
Lesley

That’s SO MUCH Laura!! I LOVED my secret cupid gift!!! I just blogged about it : )

And I’m so glad to have a new blogging friend!! : )

13 02 2009
Sharon

Oh my gosh, amazing!!!

13 02 2009
Danielle

There you are! I didn’t realize you’d changed domains… so glad I found you πŸ™‚ especially because I think I just found the most delicious recipe ever, omg, I need to make this asap!

13 02 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

Perfect! I have two over-ripe bananas–you have inspired me πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

