Welcome to Italy…!

11 02 2009

1 BLOG 012
yeah right? I wish I could visit Italy. While I ate lunch today, I prepped and started to make dinner:  Lasagna!

I intended to do something fun with this one, but no, its just plain old classic lasagna. I like classics, classic music, classic style clothing.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 box whole wheat lasagna noodles, cooked according to pkg.
  • 1/2 pkg or about 1/2 lb ground beef ( you can sub anything really: turkey, chicken, boca crumbles, soy crumbles, chopped mushrooms et.)
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 can hunts pasta sauce with mushrooms ( or whatever you prefer)
  • 1/2 can crushed tomatoes with garlic ( big 16 oz can)
  • 1 container fat free ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesean
  • 3//4 cup skim mozzarella shredded

 

Directions

I cooked the noodles (which took about 8 minutes), after I had started to brown the chopped onion and minced garlic ( the remaining from yesterday). I threw the ground meat ( lean 93%) with the onion and garlic and let it cook thoroughly. Then added the tomatoes and sauce.

Let all that sauce get saucy and simmer, while draining the noodles. I used just a spoonful of sauce on the bottom of my 9 x 13 then laid down one layer of noodles on top of that. I spooned the meat sauce on top of the noodles, sprinkled half the parmesean, spooned the ricotta on top of that in globs all over ( half the container) and smushed it so it was evenly across the pan. Then, sprinkled 1/ 4 cup shredded mozzarella.

Repeat with one layer of noodles, sauce, parm cheese, ricotta cheese, then the remaining 1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella to get all brown and crispy on top.

I like this way only because you get more lean protein, sauce veggies and lovely cheese without getting tons of filling noodles. I only used a total of two layers of noodles, but this stills the 9 x 13 so it’s fantastic to trick the eye into thinking its a huge dish. It never tricks my stomach though.
1 BLOG 010
Hence the “two” pieces:
1 BLOG 013
Of course on the side I had made a salad: organic herbed greens, cauliflower, baby bella mushrooms, cucumber, carrots, some broccoli un-dressed slaw.  Here it is, I made it “pretty” for blogland:
1 BLOG 009

Quick Lunch:

Egg White 1/2 sammy with hot sauce1 BLOG 006

and leftover beans and rice and egg whites with some salsa. And a banana…
1 BLOG 007
I was kind of angry- I was at the store and there was only one set of organic bananas browning away. I bought them because none of their conventional bananas where close to being ripe. I decided if they get super brown in the next day, I will make banana bread with them. I planned on getting lots to make it anyway go figure!

* I had a chocolate chip organic z-bar mid afternoon for snack just fyi, no photo though *

So recap today:

Body:

Gym trip- but minimal impact- I biked 9 miles in 20 minutes and did the elliptical for another 20. I consulted a professional toe-breaker ( my mom was a pointe-ballerina up until high school and has broken several toes as well as witnessed lots of broken toes). She had looked at mine and without hesitation or me bringing up I thought it was broken, diagnosed it as broken based on the way my toe is stick straight and hard to bend and well looks weird.

Left Non-Injured Toes have lots of space and at the base of the two middle toes is concave
 1 BLOG 027
Right Injured Toe: (next to big) See how there is no space in between and the base of the two tows is puffy ?
1 BLOG 028

I honestly want to know what you guys think too? I hate going to the doctor and I know any advice will not replace a physicians. Before you respond know that I have been taking anti-inflammatory meds ( prescription super strength) originally for my knee so that has kept swelling down although the toe has gotten swollen. I have been running on it for about two months like this but I remember the day I thought I first broke it- I couldn’t walk for two days and then it felt better so I just forgot about the pain even though there has been something that just feels not right ever since.
Also, I ran and walked on my ankle ( in college) for almost 3 months before finding out it was broken in 3 places. I have a pretty high threshold for pain- so pain is really no “gauge” for me.

Mind:

I loved metabolism class today- it was all about Cholesterol ( HDL and LDL and VLDL and IDL and chylomicrons and apoproteins ) and Heart Disease!!! Oh my goodness, I know I am a freak of nature for LOVING the ins and outs of cholesterol and lipoproteins and lipids but it was so fun! I can’t wait to finish up my post on it!

Soul:
Tuesday night TV!! Woohoo!

Sorry for so much silliness over a broken toe…While it may seem ridiculous to be writing all of this “out loud” so to say but writing this and thinking through situations like this one helps me realize what I should do- so I appreciate all my readers even though I may ramble about random things sometimes! 🙂

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 02 2009
Hangry Pants

Woah it definitely looks swollen or like you have webbed toes. 😀

The lasagna looks yummy. I wish I could go to metabolism class.

11 02 2009
Sharon

Oh my gosh, all those look amazing!!!

11 02 2009
Matt

i’m not gonna lie, those pictures of the toes really freaked me out at first glance.

11 02 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

So sorry about your injury 😦 Unfortunately I have no advice but to take it easy and ask your doc!
I am with you, sometimes only basic lasagna will do! It’s just the best. Yours looks yummy as usual!

11 02 2009
Dori

Metabolism class sounds awesome – my boyfriend is a cardiologist, you and him should have a brainstorming session!

Also, I came close but did not win the whole wheat challah! But I do have a frozen one I bought at the supermarket awhile ago so in 2 weekends (I will be away this weekend) I promise it is whole wheat challah pumpkin french toast time!

Leave a Reply

