10 Random Things about Me, Myself and I

11 02 2009

A blogger, Dori, tagged me to write 10 facts about yourself so people can get to know you better.

Here are 10 things about me that you might not know!

1. I was dropped during cheerleading practice in college ( from a two person liberty for you cheerleaders out there- I had stuck it ground up perfectly and the captain was teaching the bases how to cradle)- They just let go and I fell on top of everyone – my ankle fell on mashed up on the ground. I knew my ankle was broken because it immediately swelled to my toes, it was purple, puffy and discolored and I couldn’t walk on it. The trainer told me he didn’t think it was broken and when I could run again, I could go back to cheer ( he also didn’t release the x-rays). 3 months later after trying to run but literally being unable to- my mom took me to get an MRI and found that it was still cracked in 3 places. Trust your instincts, not a stupid school trainer.

2. I told everyone when I was younger that I was allergic to peanut butter and that it made me cough. I remember coughing and not liking it so I could have grown out a true, mild allergy as many many kids do but at the time I just hated peanut butter. I eat it twice a day now.

3. I really am allergic to shellfish ( and dogs, cats, fur , dust, mold, cut grass..). I have made and attempted to eat:  shrimp scampi, crabcakes, crab alfredo, crab and artichoke dip, scallops and imitation crab meat before realizing I was allergic to shellfish. I broke out into hives at work after eating the imitation stuff, after eating the crab alfredo and shrimp scampi – I vomitted. After the others, I got extremely nauseated. Even though my dad is fatally allergic, it took me that long to figure it all out.

4. When I get it in my head that I want something, I will obsess nonstop until I get it. Then all is calm until the moment strikes when I want something else. ( sorry dori- its true but it is not bag-specific like you! I have actually always hated purses/bags until I got my vera bradley from my sister and my coach tote this christmas!)

5. I have had pneumonia 4 times, the first time I missed three months of first grade. The only reason I passed is because my brothers and sisters brought home my schoolwork. I love my siblings very dearly. I also missed the first month and a half of 9th grade but managed to get 100% on the biology exam I had to take when I got back.

6. I have never liked mashed potatoes or baked potatoes or potato salad; nor milk, yogurt, cheese, corn, carrots, cream, crackers, snacks, rice, beans. Fortunately, I do try to eat these for sake of nutrition and variety.

7.  I eat so much fruits and vegetables that if I go a day without them, I can feel the withdrawal of all the antioxidants. Most people “crave” food- I don’t- I crave nutrients. I eat based on my hunger but if I have a “craving” it is for something I haven’t been getting i.e I know when I need more Vitamin C, I know when I need protein or fat or beta carotene. 

8.  I have been growing my hair out long again, I have been wearing my retainer again so that my teeth are perfectly straight, I am picking up some teeth whitening stuff too, and I have been shopping for something very specific.  I am doing all of these for one particular reason and I cannot yet tell my readers about it. Michelle of strong and healthy and Liz of veggiegirl are the only ones that know!   
 
9.  I love learning about lipids, and phospholipids and sterols. All of these are otherwise known as types of fat. Its not the same “fat” you think of  like “that is so fattening” or ” I have belly fat”. I love learning about their structures, their double bonds, their roles in membranes, absorption, digestion, connection to blood cholesterol and heart disease. I just can’t get enough of it.

10. I spent over 3 weeks travelling around the entire country of South Africa with 25 other students and 2 professors, none of which I knew well at all. We landed in johannesburg, went through pretoria, kruger national forest ( which is ,I think, the size of the state of illinois), we drove down the garden route through knysna, st. lucia estuary, and flew from Durban to ?  i don’t remember because I had gotten traveler’s sickness with a fever of 103 and constant vomitting and diarhea. Then we traveled up to Cape Town for the last few days. It was the best trip of my life and I was almost not going to go for several reasons , one of them being related to #1 ( my ankle not healing).  I am so happy to have gone, to have experienced all of their culture, to see giraffes, lions, elephants, hippos, rhinos, cheetahs all a matter of a few yards away.  Seriously, if you ever have the opportunity to go there- don’t hesitate. It was amazing.

Okay- so I would like to people that have not already been tagged but I don’t know if you have. So, here goes :

Mads of Follow My Weigh
Erica of Itzy’skitchen
VeggieGirl
Aussirish
Lara of Thinspired
sweetandfit.wordpress.com

Actions

Information

10 responses

11 02 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

That was fun to read! I love how many of the points centered around food 😉 Thank you for tagging me!! Hmm..I’ll have to spend some time thinking of some interesting facts now!

11 02 2009
VeggieGirl

Love this!! And as for #8…

HELL YES!!! 😉

11 02 2009
Erica

Great facts! I was dropped sooo many times during cheerleading! I always seemed to land on my head? haha Thanks for tagging me! I recently did this but may do it again because its so fun!

11 02 2009
Dori

Yay! So happy you did it – great list!

I also don’t like mashed potatoes or baked potatoes or potato salad! And I REALLY regret throwing out my retainer!

11 02 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, love your facts!!!

11 02 2009
dailygoods

i am loving your list 🙂 #4 is 100% true to me too!!! and i completely understand your love for coach bags now! i worked at coach during my school breaks in college and at first i didn’t really care, but then slowly but surely become obsessed! and the discount didn’t help!! lol

11 02 2009
lauren

love this list girlie 🙂 thanks for tagging me!! il definetly do my list tomoro…i just finished an update and am waaay to lazy to do anohter haha,
have a great night hun
xxxx

11 02 2009
Missy (MISSY MAINTAINS)

Great facts! That is awesome you went to Africa for 3 weeks, minus the getting sick!!!

12 02 2009
Matt

umm how’s the food in south africa?

12 02 2009
10 Random Things about Me, Myself and I « Body Mind Soul | backpackingshoes.com

[…] 10 Random Things about Me, Myself and I « Body Mind Soul […]

Leave a Reply

