Mexican Fiesta Night

10 02 2009

 

1 BLOG 010

So this is yet another super fast, easy healthy meal that I kinda just threw together.

Clockwise from the top:

  • Steamed (frozen) veggies ( red peppers, carrots, snow peas, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, yellow zuchinni)….
  • Kashi Fiesta Pilaf ( Instant in the pouch, all whole grain with black beans and roasted corn)

1 BLOG 011 

  • Look at those Vegetarian Refried Beans! I enjoyed these thoroughly with reduced fat mexican cheese!
  • Hot Sauce.. Frank’s…
  • Taco Chicken (minus the taco because I wanted more beans and rice for once!!)
    • I browned ground, lean chicken in the skillet with a minced clove of garlic, and half a diced onion. Once it was cooked through, I used an Ortega seasoning packet ( the blue brand- the yellow brand has MSG- I don’t wanna be MSG’d!!) with a little water
    • I added half a can of crushed tomatoes with garlic
    • dashes of hot sauce

Jeff had all of his inside a whole wheat tortilla.

Actions

Information

11 responses

10 02 2009
VeggieGirl

¡Olé! 😀

10 02 2009
Sharon

Oh wow, delicious! I need to get myself some hot sauce!

10 02 2009
strongandhealthy

Love your Mexican dinner!!!

10 02 2009
Caitlin

Hi girl thanks for your comment, I know you haven’t disappeared because I have been reading your posts:) I have been swamped too (hence the one post a week) so just know that even though I don’t always comment, I’m still enjoying your yummy posts (as well as your comments on nutrient metabolism II, just finished that last quarter). Take care!

10 02 2009
carolinebee

Hey! Thx for your comment 😀 I’m totally perusing your blog while i should be studying, awesome! I am obsessed with mexican food- and I love making it at home so I don’t get MSG’ed :O!! haha or go to chipotle

10 02 2009
FollowMyWeigh

MMM mexican food!! love it~

10 02 2009
Lindsay

seriously that is MY kind of dinner!

10 02 2009
Sweet and Fit

speedy yet delicious meals are the best kind!

10 02 2009
Erin

wow just saw that tiramisu french toast!!!
YUMM SKI.

and i could eat mexican every night..
are refriend beans healthy??
:/
because i love them but feel guilty eating them so i usually go for the black beans..

i’ve tried mint meringues but YUCK.
PIRATES BOOTY! MY BROTHER EATS THAT STUFF!!! HE LOVES IT.

but is it terrible and full of oils??
i should try it out!

10 02 2009
Lara (Thinspired)

I LOVE thie dinner! It’s the perfect combination of yummy and nutritious foods, and, best of all, it looks pretty on the plate 😉

10 02 2009
Erica

This looks just awesome! I love Mexican food!! I almost prefer having it as is vs. in a tortilla because you can really enjoy each and every flavor! Hope you’re having a nice day girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

