"…and it keeps getting better "

27 01 2009

Dessert from last night…
I really wanted to have dessert last night ( I think it is my running, which usually catches up with me at the end of the evening and I can feel like a bottomless pit sometimes) so I decided to make a cake and Jeff couldn’t have been happier!! I made half the recipe of (click to get recipe) Chocolate Chip Irish Cream Pound Cake…. and put it into a loaf pan.
1 BLOG 002
I didn’t really measure much this time (sorry sis). I just cut everything in half and these exceptions:

– I used regular smart balance not smart balance light ( still cutting the “bad” type of saturated fat/trans fat often in spreads & butters & margarines and replaced with a “healthy fat” of smart balance).

– I used only white sugar instead of white and brown ( out of the brown)

– I used nonfat greek yogurt instead of cream cheese ( higher protein content, healthy bacteria for digestion, no fat)

– I used 1 egg whole with 1 egg white ( original recipe calls for 3 eggs).

It was FANTASTIC!!! Oh my goodness, but the best part:
Pumpkin Chocolate Frosting!
I remember someone commenting on such a creative way to use pumpkin yesterday in my triangles (Thank You!)  and I thought , Why not try pumpkin in the frosting because it will add some fiber, vitamin A and a healthy veggie?  It was AWESOME! It tasted just like buttercream frosting but even BETTER!
1 BLOG 001
Here is my estimated recipe:
1 tablespoon of smart balance light
2/3 cup chocolate chip minis
Microwave this on medium power for about 30 seconds,
Mix Well
Then, Add small glob” of pumpkin puree (approx. 3 tablespoons)
Mix Well
Then,  add about 1 cup powdered sugar
Mix Well
I let it set in the fridge while the cake cooled. ( but i sliced up to pieces for Jeff and I because I am incredibly impatient when it comes to dessert)

Oh goodness, it was not being photogenic- however- it was absolutely delicious ( and pretty healthy for cake!!!!!!!)
1 BLOG 005

Okay on to Breakfast:
Steel Cut Oats ( quick cook) mixed with water and a “glob” of pumpkin puree and some peanut butter ( Smucker’s was not on the recall list for salmonella outbreak and I got it a long time ago…)
1 BLOG 006
Warm blueberries, pineapple and cherries.

1 BLOG 010
1 BLOG 012
On the side, Chobani Strawberry
1 BLOG 009
The plan for today:

Body: Rest . I might do something after class but I have a busy day until 6.

Mind:
Group meeting at 10:45- studying for quiz
Food Principles Class 12-3:30 and
Advanced Nutrient Metabolism II from 4-6.

Cover Letter!

I will post my synopsis later/tomorrow for my article on Moderate Vitamin E supplementation in spreads. It helped reduced free radical damage in healthy non-smoking adults!

Soul:
Tuesday night TV!

Actions

Information

10 responses

27 01 2009
Dori

The pumpkin chocolate frosting looks AMAZING!

27 01 2009
Sweet and Fit

dessert looks reallllly good… you had me at Irish Cream =)

Hope you have a great day! I’m looking forward to learning about Vitamin E

27 01 2009
dailygoods

that bread could possibly be the most delicious thing i’ve seen in a long time! ahhh and the frostine! you are a genius 🙂

27 01 2009
lauren

oh wow that looks amazing 🙂
have a great night!!

27 01 2009
dailygoods

it looks like i’ve found my long lost twin! yayy! i love it 🙂

27 01 2009
FollowMyWeigh

that cake looks awesome! all your baking turns out so well!

27 01 2009
Erin

hey, i just recently started a blog & just recently came across yours.
i just want to let you know how inspiring it truly is, your about this blog left me smiling at the computer screen. to live healthfully in moderation and not have to restrict insanely or stop yourself from doing certain things you love.

i just truly respect this blog & love every aspect of it. i think the body, mind, soul concept was extremely clever. recovering from an ed myself i know that i can look to this blog as a great guide on what my body needs daily to sustain itself.
i just want to thank you for having this blog & hope to read it continuously in the future.

=)

ps. that cake looks rediculously amazing, not too hard to make??

28 01 2009
bhealthier

hi erin!!! I emailed you back!
mads- it was yummmmmmmmmmmy
dailygoods: haha , ooo genius- you must be one too then! I did love all of your eats- I was like I swear I have had that same day before AND I love using the phrase sunday funday all the time!
S& F- Thanks so much for the tag! You are lovely!
Lauren- Thanks, it was delicious and hit the spot for sure!
Dori- oh my goodness, after I made the pumpkin chocolate frosting- I could NOT believe I haven’t thought of it before- frosting is my favorite part of cake even though its typically the most unhealthy part. now its almost healthy! it was so delicious too- just the slightest hint of pumpkin ( jeff loved it and he hates pumpkin)

28 01 2009
strongandhealthy

My mouth is watering….that looks so good! Such talent you have!

28 01 2009
Erica

Hey! My google reader was not picking up your entries! I need to catch up!

Leave a Reply

