Save The Pants!

22 01 2009

Body:
Gym: Running 1 mile in 6 minutes and 30 seconds and Elliptical 35 minutes.
I really felt up for going and just getting in a little cardio before class to wake me up.

Mind:

Principles of Food Class:
We discussed Food Chemistry (Basic Composition)  and also Food Sanitation.
Our professor brought up common food borne illnesses: food intoxication ( which happens when you consume a food that had toxins released onto it) , food infections ( which occurs when you consume a food that causes bacteria to colonize in your intestine), and toxin mediated infection ( a food that releases a toxin, which causes the bacteria to colonize).

Salmonella , E Coli, Lysteria, Claudstrium- Blech!

Ick! It is gross to think about but even scarier to think of obtaining any of these. Keep Those Hands Clean and prevent cross-contamination!

Soul:

Jack ran away… again… sigh. He was sitting outside in our driveway when I got home from the gym- he ran up to the car whimpering and I thought he was hit or hurt. I got him in the house and he went straight to his “room” and threw up all over his blanket! argh! ick! then I had to rush to shower, eat lunch, and get the mess in some sorts out of the way. Poor Jack…why does he torture himself like that?!?!

I feel quite tired this afernoon and I am thinking it is most likely from all of the super cold weather earlier this week, all that playing in the snow and trying to keep my body temperature up, all that walking around campus to and fro classes, all this the brain usage too!

Did you know that your brain is the most metabolically active tissue which means it is the biggest producer of free radicals ?

Did you know that  60% of the energy from the food you eat ( kcal) goes towards brain activity, involuntary functions like breathing, blinking, sleeping,etc. ? The other 10% of energy is used for digestion, absorption, and transportation of nutrients through the body and the other 30% is used for physical activity demands such as exercise …

Only 30% ! I wonder if that “rule” applies to say, the days I run 7-10 miles and burn 1000+ kcal. That must be more than 30% right? I mean, how does it really balance itself if this 60, 30, 10 rule is true?

AND…  I scorched Jeff’s khaki pants when ironing them this morning! Oh no, right!? Mission: Save The Pants!! The new ones I just got for him that he likes were in danger of being ruined for life, but I was hoping I could figure out a way to fix them.  I searched online and found out that hydrogen peroxide is supposed to get rid of scorch iron marks ( not if you completely burn the fabric together- but if you just left it on slightly too long!)

I tried it and it didn’t work at first, but then I just dumped some more on there and threw them in the wash. I pulled them out to find that it really did work- you can barely see where it was! Phew! Thank goodness, Mission Save The Pants was successful.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 01 2009
Sweet and Fit

thanks for the hydrogen peroxide tip… I know iv’e messed up a lot of my clothes with an iron. In culinary school, i had to attend a mandatory Food Sanitation seminar thingy – it really grossed me out and made me feel like I never wanted to go out to eat again – it only lasted a few days though!

have never heard of the 60 30 10 ratio, it doesn’t really make sense though to me – considering how much more energy you use in rigorous work-outs (like your 7-10 mile runs)

23 01 2009
strongandhealthy

Poor Jack! Love the info. I am shocked that 60% of the foods we eat goes to the brain. That makes me want to eat very healthy!!

23 01 2009
bhealthier

i know right?~? More than one of my professors told me this. It just doesn’t seem right for the people that truly are active .. we will see as the semester unfolds.

Leave a Reply

