Another Great Day with Eggplant Chicken Pasta Bake

8 01 2009

Body:

Walked 2 miles with my mom and jack ( 2 loops around their neighborhood!) it was sooooo windy! After we had chatted about the day ahead, I decided that staying here another night would allow me to get a good workout in today instead of being tired today after a drive home. So, we headed to the gym after lunch..  

The gym workout today: A fantastic RUN!! I am so happy with my time!
Distance: 5.34 miles in 40 minutes flat! That is over 2.5 minutes less than my 8K Race on Thanksgiving Day  and even faster since I ran 0.23 miles longer!

Woohoo! When we got back I did a 20 minute session of Yoga. I just did my own thang with warrior 2, triangle pose, warrior 1, downward facing dog, etc. I think downward dog is my favorite position because I find myself just hanging out in it for awhile.

Mind:
Read even more of Eat, Pray, Love ( so far another 30 pages for today). I think its being here at my parents, its like a vacation and at home I find a million other things to do instead of sit down and read!

Caught up on blogs too!

Job searching ( also in soul)

Soul:
My mom and I are baking a cheesecake, we made dinner together and the walk together was fantastic as always!

She also helped me sew up a few shirts that needed taken in (Thanks mom)

Jeff had some news about a vehicle, but I should be able to report for sure Monday. 

Speaking of monday, I start Spring Semester that day! Phew! That break just totally flew by. I am not "ready" to come back, but excited to take more classes for sure! 

One of my resolutions for this year is to get together with "old" friends that I haven’t seen in awhile- but I am still working on more.

I job searched! (gasp) I found a few positions that I might could do over spring semester but mostly looked into jobs I could obtain with ONLY a master’s degree in nutrition instead of both the MS and the RD certification/internship. I found a few possibilities but I was hoping to find something that could maybe help pay for the internship/certification. We’ll see.

Okay, now on to the food people…

Pre Walk Snack/Breakfast: Banana and Smucker’s All Natural
1 BLOG 001
After Walk Brunch:
Leftover Chicken Stir-Fry (chicken, broccoli, waterchestnuts, red and yellow bell pepper, carrots, cauliflower)
1 BLOG 003

Lunch:

Egg White Sammy ( slice of Arnold All Natural Whole Grain White) over Salad with Blueberries and Apple Slices, Hummus and Goddess Dressing ( and a pickle but I only had a bite).
1 BLOG 004
Dinner:

Prepare yourselves for this one yall- It is oh so YUMMY!

Eggplant Chicken Pasta Bake!!I got this idea from Giada Di Laurentis, the other day she layered a corningware dish with grilled eggplant slices ( she used the fancy schmany grill top on her oven- wish I had that!!) and then cooked sausage and beef with onions and garlic. She tossed in pasta and tomato sauce.So here is what I did tonight with my mom:

layered eggplant slices that I had grilled with a little olive oil in to a 13 x 9 dish.
1 BLOG 007
We made the pasta as directed.
1 BLOG 005
Sauteed onions with garlic and cooked sliced chicken.
1 BLOG 006
Tossed it all together with the tomato sauce and put it on top of the eggplant- * while all of this had been cooking I was grilling big slices of eggplant one by one on a foreman grill*
  1 BLOG 008
We added a light covering of parmesean cheese and mozzarella
1 BLOG 009
then layered the eggplant on top.
1 BLOG 010
Baked in a convection oven for 20 minutes at 325.

I cut it into 8 sections since we used 4 chicken breasts and the whole box of pasta (8 servings).
1 BLOG 014
My plate with organic mixed greens
1 BLOG 015

I loved it as did my dad ( who doesnt like eggplant apparently but enjoyed this!) and my mom really enjoyed it as well! The only thing I would have enjoyed more is another half jar of tomato sauce ( extra sauce to me is delish!)

Not done yet for the day though- We already made the cheesecake and it’s cooling now. I will start another post for it shortly…

How was everyone’s Hump Day!?!  What is one thing you do to calm yourself in stressful situations?  If I don’t do yoga, I try repeating to myself, "I have the strength to get through it".

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 01 2009
VeggieGirl

Looks great!!

8 01 2009
Erica

Another fabulous day with great eats- your dinner looks AMAZING! Glad you got in a nice workout- you are so fast! Can’t wait to hear about the SUV!

8 01 2009
Madison Song

wow that eggplant dish looks awesome!!
would you recommend that eat pray love book??

8 01 2009
sweetandfit

the eggplant chicken pasta bake looks delish! definitely going to make that next time I find some decent eggplant at the grocery store

8 01 2009
B_Hlthy

Veg: It was !!

Erica: I know me neither- I might be able to update tonight!

Mads: OMG – yes in a heartbeat I would recommend! It is worth having and reading over and over !

Greetings Sweetandfit! I love to hear comments from readers! Thank you for enjoying the recipe, Sorry you don’t have good eggplant in your stores! We didn’t either as I wanted to use more eggplant to cover. Fortunately, the one we found was big and worked!

Leave a Reply

