Final Exam #1, done in a diner among 40 Gastronomes

3 12 2008

Yes, I am the goofball that takes a picture of the bathroom.It was so intricate though!

My final exam for my fall Gastronomy course was at Poole’s Diner in Raleigh. Dance majors have their final exam as a dance performance, Gastronomes should have their final performance as well. Our final event was eating a local, sustainable, fresh, organic dinner among 39 other gastronomes. Here is our “final” as the culminating event deemed necessary by the college. No writing involved, wine was welcome, and answers never right or wrong.

Chicken Liver Patte and Local Pimento Cheese Spread
1 BLOG 012 1 BLOG 011

I tried the Chicken liver for the sake of trying it. The texture was cream cheese-like , the flavor was meaty, the apperance… well… I was happy to have tried it but will be happy to not have it again.
1 BLOG 013

A lovely “Chont De Rute”glass of wine to accompany this meal and fellow students.  It tasted like a meritage or Franc, a nice blend of merlot, cab sav and syrah. Intense like a cabernet, sweeter like a merlot, but very light  like a syrah…Yummy

1 BLOG 015

I loved the goat cheese and peppery organic arugula for our starter salad, however, did not enjoy the abundance of roasted beets.

1 BLOG 014

My favorite dish was the entree: White beans, roasted local organic tomatoes, and local fresh free range rotissere chicken.
1 BLOG 018

Mmm, delicious
1 BLOG 017

Dessert: Panna Cotta
1 BLOG 019

Honestly, I cannot stand the texture of panna cotta. It is too squishy, squirmy, creamy and gooey.  I was pleasantly surprised at the delicious shortbread cookie underneath made from FRESHLY GROUND PEANUTS! and “dulce de leche” sauce on top!
1 BLOG 020

Final Exam #1 Done!
I will take another exam like that anytime! It was also a great night of conversation with classmates Melanie, April, Jenny, and Louisa! I was surprised that I was the only one taking pictures!

We concluded the evening with a surprise. We had to write about our childhood experiences early on in this course ( I posted my response on the blog about mustard in september). Our teacher and program adminstrator took our responses and made them into …

A FOODIE CALENDAR!!!

1 BLOG 016

How awesome is that!? It was such a great surprise and each month has all the “foodie days”.  My birthday is “white chocolate day”,  and “chocolate cake day” is in january.  This was the start of a new tradition, as these calendars will hopefully be produced every fall and given to all current students AND all alumni!
1 BLOG 022 1 BLOG 023

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 12 2008
VeggieGirl

HELL YES FOR GETTING THROUGH THE EXAM!!!!!

I want that PB/dulce de leche dessert.

3 12 2008
Madison

wow what an AWESOME class!!
and shortbread cookie made from peanuts??? yumyumyum!!

3 12 2008
strongandhealthy

Wow, you’re so brave!

I’d definitely try the wine!!

3 12 2008
Caitlin

I am in the WRONG program, I have never had a final like this:) How amazing!

3 04 2009
Thursday: Yeast Bread Lab, Speedy Run, Weekend of Fun! « Body Mind Soul

[…] I had pb&j because on my Gastronomy Calendar, it is “National Peanut Butter and Jelly […]

Leave a Reply

