Chili and Cornbread

21 10 2008

Accomplishment feels spectacular!!! unfortunately, I have had sniffles all day and my head felt “swirly” in class… sigh.. that fishing in the rain on the beach this weekend probably wasnt the best idea …oh well… I knew I wanted to something “warm” like a stew/soup/chili for dinner….

Lunch:

Flat Out Light Wrap

4 Egg Whites , Hard boiled

Hot Sauce

Mustard

Steamed Asiam Veggies ( corn, red pepper, waterchestnuts, snap pea, edamame)

Banana w organic peanut butter

Pre-Class Snack:

Body:

Strength: Chest, Shoulders, Triceps and Hamstrings

Cardio: 7 mile RUN!!! Plus 10 minutes on the elliptical

mile1 9:00 min

mile2 8:40 min

mile3 8:40 min

mile 4 8:20 min

mile 5 7:53 min

mile 6 7:00 min !!!!

mile 7 7:30

My knees felt fantastic during the run but did start feeling achy later this afternoon while walking to class. I really paced myself and tried hard not to run faster for the first 3 miles ( I hate feeling like I am running slow… so I usually just run fast and get pumped the faster I go)

Mind:

-Found great back up articles for minority health but still not one good one

-Finished reading Slow Food Nation this morning, exam tomorrow and paper for Slow Food Nation due next week.

-Reading Organic, Inc after posting!

-Class today was about Unnatural Causes of death and Socioeconomic status ( income and education level combined essentially) being the strongest predictor of health & longevity

-Suduko!

Soul:

I

Came up with a game plan with Jacob’s “team” for therapy… I am pysched to help out 2 hours + during the mornings… I think I was getting stressed with the idea of weekends/evenings his mom wanted because it was too hard for me to fit it all in- but in the mornings I can fit in two hours and will be HAPPY to have some more money flow!

Cooked healthy chili and Momma Mo’s cornbread “puddin” Laural- style…



My Dinner Bowl: w/ TJ nonfat greek plain



Into the crock pot I put:

1 can organic chili beans

1 can rotel chunky tomatoes and green chiles

1 16 oz can tomato sauce

However much of Hot Sauce ( I like about 2 tablespoons, Jeff likes 5)

In the pan I threw 1/4 chopped onion with 2 cloves of garlic, added ground meat ( I used 93% lean but i like ground turkey and for more people I use the next fat level because its not very much different ( an extra 20-30 cal/serving) until brown… added a tablespoon of chili seasoning and to taste : cumin and chili powder

Then I put the pan mixture into my crock pot, stir and cooked on low for 4+ hours.

I did something new this time though- I cooked and added organic red lentils! They came out like a green mush and I pretty sure I did something wrong- but I threw in three servings of them into the crock pot after everything else …

So then for the easiest most delicious cornbread pudding ever…

Here is Momma Mo’s Southern Recipe

2 boxes Jiffy Corn Mix

2 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1 cup butter

1 can cream corn

1 can fresh kernel corn

…Add it all together mix well, Bake at 350 for 40 minutes

Here is what I did today:

Ingredients:

( I use this 4 inch high, 10 inch round corningware b/c it fits into my toaster oven)

1.5 cup yellow self rising cornmeal

1 cup whole grain organic flour

1 tsp salt

1 Tb Smart Balance 50/50

2 eggs or egg beater substitute

1/2 cup Nonfat SourCream

1/2 cup Plain Nonfat 0% Greek Yogurt

1 can cream corn

1 can whole kernel corn

Melt tablespoon butter into the pie dish/casserole dish, roll it around to coat. I added the egg beaters, sour cream, yogurt and mixed. Then added both cans of corn. In a separate bowl I mixed the dry ingredients, then added the dry to the wet. Mixed it all and baked for 45 minutes at 350. I mixed the center halfway through baking.

Here I come Organic, Inc.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 10 2008
madison (followmyweigh)

that chili & cornbread looks so freakin good!! =P

21 10 2008
VeggieGirl

Chili & cornbread!!! Classic comfort food.

22 10 2008
Mind Body Shop

A wise man should consider that health is the greatest of human blessings, and learn how by his own thought to derive benefit from his illnesses.

18 03 2009
Happy St. Patrick’s Day « Body Mind Soul

[…] have made this several times..Check out this recipe for probably THE BEST cornbread casserole recipe I made . Each time  I make this, the outside cooks quicker than the middle and to fix this, I mix it […]

Leave a Reply

