*updated- Lunchtime

15 10 2008
Hello Blog-land from Campus!

So.. Ortho ordered an MRI, he was not happy that my knee is still giving me problems . What is odd is that the last two weeks on the meds, I could run again with no problems- I posted about my Supersonic Racer Speed last week ( 7 mile run in 50 minutes and a 6.4 miler in around that too).

Yesterday, I went to “jog” to my car after biking and jabbed with pain on the first step from nowhere! So dissappointing.

Health insurance won’t cover the MRI- it goes toward my deductible which is 2500 and it costs $600 out of pocket.

So the assistant is checking into other options on what to do and what will be figured out by the MRI- in most likely case- I need a surgical operation to either clear out cartiledge, or fix my knee cap. I doubt I can afford surgery, but at least 1/4 of my deductible would be paid for so ….??

After the appointment I went to the gym. I know, how ironic/hypocritical? But I felt like getting out my stress/frustration and the best way I can do that is by exercise- so

Body: Biked 11 miles, 23 minutes ( resistance level 4-11, random hill program). Elliptical 22 minutes (resistance level 3-5).. no strength training today, just some stress relieving cardio!

Mind: In the waiting area, got through several pages of Slow Food Nation…its been a Slow Read Too! I also am on campus early to do more research and read in the library, which should be rather productive.
** I got so much reading done in 30 minutes!!! Wow… super productive . Class was rather mundane- we got out early though so I could do more researching for the presentation for it! **

Soul: Dinner is already made and nail appointments for tomorrow evening. I have to pack but have a good base of what I need/want to take with me this weekend.
I also wanted to yoga everyday this week, so I plan on doing that this evening or going for a walk with Jeff. The grass needs cut too so I may do some yardwork with Jeff, the outdoor time relaxes me as well. ** yoga today- 20 minutes- Yardwork tomorrow afternoon with Jeff**

Lunch was delicious after the gym….I will have to post the pic later with dinner

I had:
TJ Steel Cut Oats, added tsp organic peanut butter, dried cranberries and pineapple ( and wished I had coconut!)… THANKS MOM FOR THE ORGANIC PEANUT BUTTER! ( its less salty but still yummy!)
Oikos Blueberry Organic Greek ( HT had $0.75 off coupons- i took a bunch which made the cost less than other greek yogurts!)
Thawed Steamed Veggies and Fresh Raw Veggies with a tsp of Garlic Hummus

Delicious! Off to coursework, see you around dinner

Actions

Information

One response

15 10 2008
VeggieGirl

Oh no!! I’m PRAYING that everything goes well with the MRI, and that your knee gets 100% better. Hang in there throughout this ordeal!!

Leave a Reply

